The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   What if... (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/65551-what-if.html)

Chris Viverito Thu Mar 24, 2011 08:20pm

What if...
 
Fed rules.

7-2-5 Penalty

The batter shall not:

Interfere with the catchers fielding or throwing

If the pitch is a 3rd strike and in the umpires judgment interference prevents a possible double play (additional outs) interference prevents a possible double play (additional outs). two may be ruled out.

1 - 2 count. R1 stealing 2d. B2 swings and misses, then interferes with F2's attempt to retire R1. Umpire judges a possible double play.

Ruling: B2 is out for strike 3. R1 is out for interference.

Question: Is there a scenario of this sitch where the R1 would not be called out for the interference?

jicecone Thu Mar 24, 2011 08:54pm

I think you mean 7-3-5 Penalty.

B1 causes the interference however, because B1 is already out then the umpire can also call out the runner being played on if the umpire judges a possible double play.

R1 just ends up being called out for the batters interference. R1 has not comitted any infraction but the batter has, and he has struck out also..

Question: Is there a scenario of this sitch where the R1 would not be called out for the interference?

For the batters inteference? Only if the umpires judges that a double play was not possible. Eg. Batter strikes out and crosses in front of catcher. Catcher goes to take the ball out of his glove to throw and drops the ball.

ManInBlue Thu Mar 24, 2011 09:05pm

R1 would not be out if B had a 1-1 count when this happened - would he? B out, R1 returns...

Someone tell me if lost my mind.:confused:


Otherwise, I agree - strike 3 B out and R1 out b/c of INT.

Chris Viverito Thu Mar 24, 2011 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 743499)
I think you mean 7-3-5 Penalty.

For the batters inteference? Only if the umpires judges that a double play was not possible. Eg. Batter strikes out and crosses in front of catcher. Catcher goes to take the ball out of his glove to throw and drops the ball.

Correct. I did mean 7-3-5 penalty.

As for your answer 'only if'...it does not apply to my sitch. The sitch has the batter interfering. Key elements...

The batter strikes out, then interferes with F2's attempt to retire R1. Is there any reason why R1 would not be out in this situation?

Chris Viverito Thu Mar 24, 2011 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 743504)
R1 would not be out if B had a 1-1 count when this happened - would he? B out, R1 returns...

Someone tell me if lost my mind.:confused:


Otherwise, I agree - strike 3 B out and R1 out b/c of INT.

No, R1 would not be out if the count was 1 & 1. B2 would be out and R1 would be returned too 1st.

For my question, none of the elements may change. Here they are again:

1 & 2. 0 out. B2 strikes out, then interferes with F2, who is trying to retire R1. Is there any reason that R1 will not be called out in this situation?

ODJ Thu Mar 24, 2011 09:35pm

I get two outs on this play. If R1 isn't out by rule here, this scenario would happen every game.

UmpJM Thu Mar 24, 2011 09:38pm

ODJ,

What if the R1 had been obstructed by F3 as he took off for 2B?

JM

jicecone Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris Viverito (Post 743511)
Correct. I did mean 7-3-5 penalty.

As for your answer 'only if'...it does not apply to my sitch. The sitch has the batter interfering. Key elements...

The batter strikes out, then interferes with F2's attempt to retire R1. Is there any reason why R1 would not be out in this situation?

Chris, the rule reads that two outs "may" be called. Not shall or must. I gave you an example but, and there are many more however the rule allows the official to make a call of judgement.

bob jenkins Fri Mar 25, 2011 06:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris Viverito (Post 743512)
No, R1 would not be out if the count was 1 & 1. B2 would be out and R1 would be returned too 1st.

For my question, none of the elements may change. Here they are again:

1 & 2. 0 out. B2 strikes out, then interferes with F2, who is trying to retire R1. Is there any reason that R1 will not be called out in this situation?

98.3% of the time, R1 will also be out. But, if F1 mistakenly pitches from a wind-up, or R1 is a state 30-yard dash champ, and F2 has a rag arm, and the pitch is a change in the dirt that F2 doesn't catch cleanly, ...

It's happened once to me in my career where I sent the runner back instead of getting an out.

Chris Viverito Fri Mar 25, 2011 08:45am

Thanks for the replies. I asked this question because I have an issue with the wording in the rules book. All of these suggested possibilities seem to apply to the wording logically. I'll try to remember that there is a 1.7% chance that the penalty will be to return the runners rather than call the out. As usual - it comes down to my judgment - which is usually horse poo-doo anyway. Of that there is a 99.347 % chance...unless I've been drinking Red Bull. :D

jicecone Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris Viverito (Post 743648)
99.347 % chance.:D

There is probably a slightly higher chance that your going to have to toss the Coach after he tells you that that is, a "horsesh*t call" , "your terrible".
"I can't believe you can call something like that," "You have no clue what your doing," "Your trying to hose us", "Your father wears high heel shoes," and my all time best, "Your ugly too."

Have a good season

UmpJM Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 743756)
There is probably a slightly higher chance that your going to have to toss the Coach after he tells you that that is, a "horsesh*t call" , "your terrible".
"I can't believe you can call something like that," "You have no clue what your doing," "Your trying to hose us", "Your father wears high heel shoes," and my all time best, "Your ugly too."

Have a good season

"Coach, I had already inferred you were displeased by my call. Did you have a question?" :rolleyes:

JM

Chris Viverito Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 743756)
There is probably a slightly higher chance that your going to have to toss the Coach after he tells you that that is, a "horsesh*t call" , "your terrible".
"I can't believe you can call something like that," "You have no clue what your doing," "Your trying to hose us", "Your father wears high heel shoes," and my all time best, "Your ugly too."

Have a good season

Right...but the chance goes down exponentially if it is raining, very very cold out...or very very hot.

Thanks J. Best to you too.

Suudy Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:36pm

So what about multiple people on base? No outs, 1-2 count, R1 and R2 attempt a double steal. B1 strikes out and interferes with F2's attempted throw to third.

R2 out and R1 back to first?

Simply The Best Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:42pm

Originally Posted by jicecone http://forum.officiating.com/images/...s/viewpost.gif
There is probably a slightly higher chance that your going to have to toss the Coach after he tells you that that is, a "horsesh*t call" , "your terrible".
"I can't believe you can call something like that," "You have no clue what your doing," "Your trying to hose us", "Your father wears high heel shoes," and my all time best, "Your ugly too."


Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 743769)
"Coach, I had already inferred you were displeased by my call. Did you have a question?" :rolleyes:

The cute one-liner is not only unnecessary it will only further inflame an out of control coach.

"Coach, did you have a question?" is simple, direct and doesn't buy you an unneeded continuation of harassment or argument.

UmpJM Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy (Post 743783)
So what about multiple people on base? No outs, 1-2 count, R1 and R2 attempt a double steal. B1 strikes out and interferes with F2's attempted throw to third.

R2 out and R1 back to first?

Yep. (And don't forget the out on the batter.)

JM

Suudy Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 743789)
Yep. (And don't forget the out on the batter.)

Right.

However, as I asked on the other thread, I'm wondering about the mechanics on this. As mentioned, interference leads to an immediate dead ball (right?).

I'm making this up as I go, so please bear with me. The PU then:
  1. Signals the strike out.
  2. Verbalizes the interference ("That's interference!").
  3. Calls time.
  4. Points to R2 and calls the out.
  5. Points to R1 and sends him back to first ("You, back to first.")
That about it?

Chris Viverito Fri Mar 25, 2011 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy (Post 743783)
So what about multiple people on base? No outs, 1-2 count, R1 and R2 attempt a double steal. B1 strikes out and interferes with F2's attempted throw to third.

R2 out and R1 back to first?

Yep. In fed-speak that would be R1 out and R2 back to 1st.

UmpJM Fri Mar 25, 2011 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy (Post 743797)
Right.

However, as I asked on the other thread, I'm wondering about the mechanics on this. As mentioned, interference leads to an immediate dead ball (right?).

I'm making this up as I go, so please bear with me. The PU then:
  1. Signals the strike out.
  2. Verbalizes the interference ("That's interference!").
  3. Calls time.
  4. Points to R2 and calls the out.
  5. Points to R1 and sends him back to first ("You, back to first.")
That about it?

Suudy,

While in most cases interference does, in fact, result in an immediate dead ball, batter interference is one of the rare exceptions. 5-2(a).

In your "sequence", if you were to move #3 after #4 you'd be good.

JM

bob jenkins Fri Mar 25, 2011 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Simply The Best (Post 743788)
The cute one-liner is not only unnecessary it will only further inflame an out of control coach.

"Coach, did you have a question?" is simple, direct and doesn't buy you an unneeded continuation of harassment or argument.

You're not reading CoachJM's response with the right tone.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy (Post 743797)
Right.

However, as I asked on the other thread, I'm wondering about the mechanics on this. As mentioned, interference leads to an immediate dead ball (right?).

I'm making this up as I go, so please bear with me. The PU then:
  1. Signals the strike out.
  2. Verbalizes the interference ("That's interference!").
  3. Calls time.
  4. Points to R2 and calls the out.
  5. Points to R1 and sends him back to first ("You, back to first.")
That about it?



No.

You have to wait for the play to finish between 2 and 3. If the initial throw retires the runner, then items 3-5 are ignored.

Suudy Fri Mar 25, 2011 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 743810)
You have to wait for the play to finish between 2 and 3. If the initial throw retires the runner, then items 3-5 are ignored.

So R1 gets to keep second if F2's throw retires R2, and the interference is ignored (since R1 is tagged out, and B1 struck out)?

UmpJM Fri Mar 25, 2011 03:46pm

Suudy,

That is correct. If the F2's initial attempt to retire a runner is successful despite the interference, the interference is disregarded and the play stands. (Regardless of whether or not the batter struck out.)

JM

Suudy Fri Mar 25, 2011 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 743827)
That is correct. If the F2's initial attempt to retire a runner is successful despite the interference, the interference is disregarded and the play stands. (Regardless of whether or not the batter struck out.)

Does it matter with regard to uncaught third strikes?

For example, no outs, 1-2 count, B1 swings and misses, but F2 drops the ball. B1 pushes F2 and starts to run toward first. R2 takes off for third. F2 recovers and throws 1) to first in time to put out the batter-runner, 2) to first and over the head of F3, 3) to third in time to tag R1, 4) to third but not in time to tag R1.

mbyron Fri Mar 25, 2011 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy (Post 743849)
Does it matter with regard to uncaught third strikes?

For example, no outs, 1-2 count, B1 swings and misses, but F2 drops the ball. B1 pushes F2 and starts to run toward first. R2 takes off for third. F2 recovers and throws 1) to first in time to put out the batter-runner, 2) to first and over the head of F3, 3) to third in time to tag R1, 4) to third but not in time to tag R1.

That's not batter interference, but rather interference by the batter-runner. The ball is dead immediately, BR out, other runners return. 8-4-1a

bob jenkins Fri Mar 25, 2011 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy (Post 743824)
So R1 gets to keep second if F2's throw retires R2, and the interference is ignored (since R1 is tagged out, and B1 struck out)?

Yes. IF the throw retires the runner, there really wasn't any interference.

DG Fri Mar 25, 2011 07:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 743756)
"your terrible".

Adios...

UmpJM Fri Mar 25, 2011 08:01pm

suudy,

When the batter becomes a runner on the pitch, he is no longer a batter but a batter-runner. That might seem like a trivial distinction, but it's actually important.

Since he is no longer a batter, he is no longer constrained by the batter interference rules. So, yes, it matters quite a bit.

Now, if the batter were to push the F2 (which to me implies intent), he's out on runner interference, I'm killing the play immediately, and it is certainly conceivable that I would call the runner out as well (due to his teammate's interference) if I felt a double play was likely or possible.

Conversely, if the BR just took off for 1B and the F2 just went after the loose ball and inadvertently "bumped" one another, then I've got "nothing" (a tangle/untangle in umpire parlance). If the F2 gets the ball and airmails it over the F3's head, and the runner is short of or within the running lane, I've still got nothing. If he's past halfway and outside the running lane (and in the "flight path" of the throw), I've likely got the BR out on runner's lane interference. The ball is immediately dead and runner's return to their TOP (OBR) or TOI (FED) base. (Likely the same place in this sitch.)

JM

Simply The Best Fri Mar 25, 2011 09:52pm

"Coach, I had already inferred you were displeased by my call. Did you have a question?" :rolleyes:

JM ___


Simply The Best http://forum.officiating.com/images/...s/viewpost.gif
The cute one-liner is not only unnecessary it will only further inflame an out of control coach.

"Coach, did you have a question?" is simple, direct and doesn't buy you an unneeded continuation of harassment or argument.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 743810)
You're not reading CoachJM's response with the right tone.

Tone doesn't matter ime imo

BK47 Sat Mar 26, 2011 08:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 743892)
suudy,

Now, if the batter were to push the F2 (which to me implies intent), he's out on runner interference, I'm killing the play immediately, and it is certainly conceivable that I would call the runner out as well (due to his teammate's interference) if I felt a double play was likely or possible.

JM

JM, if there are less than two outs and first base is occupied at TOP on a dropped third strike, the batter/runner is out automaticly. If he takes off for first and pushs F2 on his way causing F2 to sail the ball to first base, or if there is a running lane violation, we really dont have anything on that because the B/R was already out.

What would you do in that situation? Where F2 made the mistake of throwing to first, an already occupied base at TOP on the dropped third strike with less than two outs and we have interferrence on the B/R? Like I said, F2 was not trying to throw to second to get R1, he was throwing to first.

mbyron Sat Mar 26, 2011 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BK47 (Post 743976)
What would you do in that situation? Where F2 made the mistake of throwing to first, an already occupied base at TOP on the dropped third strike with less than two outs and we have interferrence on the B/R? Like I said, F2 was not trying to throw to second to get R1, he was throwing to first.

Interference by a retired runner. The ball is dead; if you judge an out could have been made, that runner is out; if you're not sure which runner would have been played on, the runner closest to home is out. Other runners return to their TOI bases. 8-4-2g

BK47 Sat Mar 26, 2011 08:33am

mbyron, thats just it. I am sure F2 was throwing to first to retire B/R, however B/R was already out as first base was occupied at TOP. If F2 was throwing to second then I know I can get R1 out regardless if thrown out or not on the interferrence.

Would you reward the defense on this play and get the out at second even if the defense did not actually earn it because they threw to the wrong base? F2 should have known the situation: first base occupied at TOP with less than two outs means B/R cannot advance to first base on a dropped third strike. R1 can steal second all he wants which means F2 should throw to second to retire R1, not to first to get B/R.

Would you leave R1 at second because F2 screwed up and threw to the wrong base or would you simply send R1 back to first?

jicecone Sat Mar 26, 2011 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BK47 (Post 743980)
mbyron, thats just it. I am sure F2 was throwing to first to retire B/R, however B/R was already out as first base was occupied at TOP. If F2 was throwing to second then I know I can get R1 out regardless if thrown out or not on the interferrence.

Would you reward the defense on this play and get the out at second even if the defense did not actually earn it because they threw to the wrong base? F2 should have known the situation: first base occupied at TOP with less than two outs means B/R cannot advance to first base on a dropped third strike. R1 can steal second all he wants which means F2 should throw to second to retire R1, not to first to get B/R.

Would you leave R1 at second because F2 screwed up and threw to the wrong base or would you simply send R1 back to first?

At the point the B/R pushes F2, it is a dead ball, and someone has to pay the price for the interference by the B/R. You can't call a second out on the batter and it doesn't quite matter where F2 was going to throw after that. The runner closest to home would be R1 and he or she would be out.

mbyron Sat Mar 26, 2011 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 743985)
At the point the B/R pushes F2, it is a dead ball, and someone has to pay the price for the interference by the B/R. You can't call a second out on the batter and it doesn't quite matter where F2 was going to throw after that. The runner closest to home would be R1 and he or she would be out.

Exactly right. I'm killing it on the intentional push (the retired BR must do something to interfere -- merely running to 1B is not illegal, even if it draws a throw). The push is an infraction that is punished with an out, assuming that the defense might have been able to record an out.

And the bar is pretty low for that judgment: if the ball is near the catcher, then I'm probably judging that they might have made an out. If it's all the way to a backstop 60 feet behind the plate, then I'll probably kill it and send the runners back without calling an additional out.

jicecone Sat Mar 26, 2011 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 743988)
exactly right. I'm killing it on the intentional push (the retired br must do something to interfere -- merely running to 1b is not illegal, even if it draws a throw). The push is an infraction that is punished with an out, assuming that the defense might have been able to record an out.

And the bar is pretty low for that judgment: If the ball is near the catcher, then i'm probably judging that they might have made an out. If it's all the way to a backstop 60 feet behind the plate, then i'll probably kill it and send the runners back without calling an additional out.

+1

BK47 Sun Mar 27, 2011 07:45am

Got Ya, thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1