The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   batting out of order (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/64864-batting-out-order.html)

ump50 Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:13am

batting out of order
 
Following a home run by B2,S1 enters the batters box and does not report
His coach had wanted him to pinch hit for B4.Prior to the ball being made live.
the defense recognizes the situation and states that B3,who has left and
re-entered the game previously is now out of game
A. True,S1 has replaced B3
B. False, the ball had not yet been legally made live

I am confused if the ball has to be put to play or not to accept this play

mbyron Mon Mar 14, 2011 07:54am

Why is your thread titled "Batting out of order" if you have a substitution question?

Your question is easily answered by the last clause of (NFHS) 3-1-1.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ump50 (Post 739703)
I am confused if the ball has to be put to play or not to accept this play

that's exactly what the FED is testing with this question. When does an "unreported substitute" become official?

ump50 Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:23am

So I guess the answer is A. because the ball is live when the batter takes his place in the batters box 3-1-d

jicecone Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ump50 (Post 739733)
So I guess the answer is A. because the ball is live when the batter takes his place in the batters box 3-1-d

No, the ball must be live and the battermust take his place in the batters box. In the question the specifically say, "prior to the ball being made live".

Rich Ives Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ump50 (Post 739733)
So I guess the answer is A. because the ball is live when the batter takes his place in the batters box 3-1-d

It followed a home run - dead ball. It's not in play until put in play.

ump50 Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:29am

Thank you

ManInBlue Mon Mar 14, 2011 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 739735)
It followed a home run - dead ball. It's not in play until put in play.

That's why you should make a habit of putting the ball back in play. They can argue all they want to. If you didn't say "play" it ain't in play. If you don't do it all the time, well...you just gave yourself a lengthy rope.

I have to admit that I'm a little slack with no runners on base. But I do it everytime with runners on. Ok, 95% of the time.:rolleyes:

Simply The Best Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 739801)
That's why you should make a habit of putting the ball back in play. They can argue all they want to. If you didn't say "play" it ain't in play. If you don't do it all the time, well...you just gave yourself a lengthy rope.

I have to admit that I'm a little slack with no runners on base. But I do it everytime with runners on. Ok, 95% of the time.:rolleyes:

Simple solution. Tell the F2s that the ball cannot be pitched until you signal "Play". They will remind you when your mind drifts.

The beauty of age...;)

mbyron Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 739801)
That's why you should make a habit of putting the ball back in play. They can argue all they want to. If you didn't say "play" it ain't in play. If you don't do it all the time, well...you just gave yourself a lengthy rope.

I have to admit that I'm a little slack with no runners on base. But I do it everytime with runners on. Ok, 95% of the time.:rolleyes:

+1

I put the ball in play every time. With no runners, I'll just point. With runners, I point and verbalize.

Doing something every time reminds me to verbalize with runners.

UmpTTS43 Mon Mar 14, 2011 05:55pm

What does putting the ball in play have to do with anything? When S1 entered the batter's box, doesn't matter whether the ball is live or dead, he is now officially in the game.

UmpJM Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:02pm

UMPTT,

The OP was a FED test question.

In FED it matters. Under FED rules, an unannounced sub only becomes "official" when he "takes his position" AND the ball is live.

JM

UmpTTS43 Mon Mar 14, 2011 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 739968)
UMPTT,

The OP was a FED test question.

In FED it matters. Under FED rules, an unannounced sub only becomes "official" when he "takes his position" AND the ball is live.

JM

You are correct. I better get FEDed up before the season. I think I did get the question correct on the test, go figure.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1