The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   base runner (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/64819-base-runner.html)

rails42 Sun Mar 13, 2011 05:06pm

base runner
 
If a runner intentionally interfers with a throw is that interference and a dead ball or is the runner out and the ball is live.Rule 8-4-2g does not explain
the penalty for it

UmpJM Sun Mar 13, 2011 05:10pm

rails,

If a runner intentionally interferes with a thrown ball, that is interference and a dead ball (immediate). See 5-1-1e.

Rule 5 is one of the most important - and oft-overlooked - rules in the FED rulebook.

JM

jicecone Sun Mar 13, 2011 07:23pm

Rails,

The Dead Ball and delayed dead ball table in Rule 5 is a real handy tool to remember because, it ties in the penalties to just about every rule in the book. That and the awards table in 8 are very handy.

Good luck

MikeStrybel Sun Mar 13, 2011 07:42pm

This may be stating the obvious but...if the runner interferes it doesn't matter if it was intentional or not - the penalty applies, right? Batter interference usually involves a delayed dead ball.

At any of my clinics I preach to use the Casebook. It contains examples of what you look for and some pretty crazy plays that caused rule changes or points of emphasis. Check them out and I bet you'll find what you need.

Have a great season!

dash_riprock Sun Mar 13, 2011 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 739595)
This may be stating the obvious but...if the runner interferes it doesn't matter if it was intentional or not - the penalty applies, right?

Interference with a thrown ball must be intentional.

rails42 Sun Mar 13, 2011 08:08pm

Thank all of you for your answers

jicecone Sun Mar 13, 2011 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 739599)
Interference with a thrown ball must be intentional.

Agree, however on a force play slide, a runner more than half way to second that gets hit with a throw, commits unintentional interference.

UmpJM Sun Mar 13, 2011 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 739607)
Agree, however on a force play slide, a runner more than half way to second that gets hit with a throw, commits unintentional interference.

jicecone,

Are you sure? :rolleyes:

While I'm familiar with the official interp that says he's not guilty if he's less than halfway, I'm not so sure the converse applies.

Let me know how that goes the next time you call it.

JM

jicecone Sun Mar 13, 2011 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 739608)
jicecone,

Are you sure? :rolleyes:

JM

The implication is certainly there from the interpretation but, I do agree that you may also have to get ready to throw out the Coach after you call the two outs.

Never had to call it and your right, probably wouldn't.

UmpJM Sun Mar 13, 2011 08:54pm

jicecone,

Me neither.

There was another thread on the question awhile back, and I believe it was Bob Jenkins who suggested he wouldn't hold the runner liable until he was close enough to 2B that he would reasonably be expected to initiate his slide.

That made a lot of sense to me.

JM

jicecone Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 739615)
jicecone,

Me neither.

There was another thread on the question awhile back, and I believe it was Bob Jenkins who suggested he wouldn't hold the runner liable until he was close enough to 2B that he would reasonably be expected to initiate his slide.

That made a lot of sense to me.

JM

FYI

Interesting TidBit; I was looking a a new book I just purchased, "Plays that Trip you Up", by Stearn and Moore and they have a Case Play about this, where the runner gets hit at the "halfway" point to second. In Fed the play stands and in NCAA R1 is out.

Kind of like working with the gov't. Everyone has a opinion but, No One wants to make a decision. Then when we try to enforce ambiguity, we look like the beast we three heads,

Have a good day.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 739728)
FYI

Interesting TidBit; I was looking a a new book I just purchased, "Plays that Trip you Up", by Stearn and Moore and they have a Case Play about this, where the runner gets hit at the "halfway" point to second. In Fed the play stands and in NCAA R1 is out.

Kind of like working with the gov't. Everyone has a opinion but, No One wants to make a decision. Then when we try to enforce ambiguity, we look like the beast we three heads,

Have a good day.

Interesting. What references do they give? I'd have the same ruling in both codes on these types of plays.

jicecone Mon Mar 14, 2011 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 739731)
Interesting. What references do they give? I'd have the same ruling in both codes on these types of plays.

No references?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1