The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   NCAA Rule Question - Appeal Play (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/62352-ncaa-rule-question-appeal-play.html)

johnnyg08 Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 729545)
2 bases from last legally occupied ToT - he didn't legally occupy 2B. How can you award from there? If he legally occupied 2B how could he be illegal at 1B? By rule to be legal you must touch all bases in order...if I miss one, I'm not legal at the next one...

Here's the quote from the OP: "For ease sake, let's agree that the throw was just before R1 touched 2nd"

I agree w/ MIB...I think it would still be an award of 3B, and still liable to be out on appeal.

ManInBlue Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 729548)
Here's the quote from the OP: "For ease sake, let's agree that the throw was just before R1 touched 2nd"

I agree w/ MIB...I think it would still be an award of 3B, and still liable to be out on appeal.

johnny - I think he meant before he touches it on the way back to 1B...

yawetag Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 729548)
Here's the quote from the OP: "For ease sake, let's agree that the throw was just before R1 touched 2nd"

I agree w/ MIB...I think it would still be an award of 3B, and still liable to be out on appeal.

I missed that part. Re-reading, the original award would be 3B. However, had he been past 2B at the time of the throw, the award is home, whether or not he left 1B early.

johnnyg08 Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:54am

Sounds good guys...I think we've got both scenarios covered if he was advancing to 2B or rounding 2B on the way back to 1B at TOT.

yawetag Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 729554)
Sounds good guys...I think we've got both scenarios covered if he was advancing to 2B or rounding 2B on the way back to 1B at TOT.

Yep. And to complete it, if he doesn't return to touch 1B before touching 3B, the appeal can be made.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1