The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   The batter attempts to bunt with 2 strikes but POPS it up (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/61950-batter-attempts-bunt-2-strikes-but-pops-up.html)

MaskMan Mon Feb 07, 2011 05:26am

The batter attempts to bunt with 2 strikes but POPS it up
 
Hi all!

The batter attempts to bunt with 2 strikes but POPS it up where F2 makes the catch in foul territory. R1 was moving on the pitch.
Is the batter out because he bunts foul (dead ball and F2 can't try to eliminate R1 on first base) or because F2 makes the catch(ball alive and in play and F2 can try to eliminate R1)?

yawetag Mon Feb 07, 2011 05:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MaskMan (Post 727131)
Hi all!

The batter attempts to bunt with 2 strikes but POPS it up where F2 makes the catch in foul territory. R1 was moving on the pitch.
Is the batter out because he bunts foul (dead ball and F2 can't try to eliminate R1 on first base) or because F2 makes the catch(ball alive and in play and F2 can try to eliminate R1)?

It's a catch. Ball is live.

celebur Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:25pm

Note that the rules do not differentiate between a caught foul fly and a caught fair fly--they are both simply a caught fly ball. So as already answered, it's a catch and the ball is live.

btdt Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:03pm

"Is the batter out because he bunts foul (dead ball and F2 can't try to eliminate R1 on first base)"

I have never heard of dead ball on third strike, foul bunt.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btdt (Post 728615)
"Is the batter out because he bunts foul (dead ball and F2 can't try to eliminate R1 on first base)"

I have never heard of dead ball on third strike, foul bunt.

What!?

That's the rule in all codes (I suppose there might be some very-young-youth rule that has something different).

It's a dead ball becasue it's foul. (I assume we're NOT talking about the caught ball here). It's an out to stop the batter from continually bunting foul to tire the pitcher.

btdt Thu Feb 10, 2011 01:53pm

Dead because foul.
That makes sense.
I have probably called it 50 times and it just never registered what I just did.
Too simple

MikeStrybel Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:34pm

This question was on the NCAA test. My immediate thought is that the batter is out and the ball is dead the second the catcher touches it. Runners cannot advance and must return. Penalties in baseball are designed to punish the person/team at fault - in this case, the batter.

If the catcher had not caught the ball the result would still be the same, right?

I answered it this way. If it was wrong I'll know in a couple days. Good luck.

johnnyg08 Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:49pm

No catch, it's a strike out. Catch, runner can retouch and attempt to advance. I think you're thinking too much about penalty versus just watching baseball and letting it happened.

yawetag Sat Feb 12, 2011 01:06am

This is a situation where F2 screwed up by catching the ball. Granted, in most situations, no runner will advance. However, by letting the ball drop foul, the ball's dead and the runners can't advance.

MikeStrybel Sat Feb 12, 2011 08:15am

I have a lote/hate relationship with these questions. I enjoy discussing them but hate seeing them on tests. I appreciate the thoughts but want to ask a couple things:
1) The batted ball is not foul until it is touched while on or over foul terrirtory. By definition, it is a dead ball at the time that happens, right?

2) Yes, I know that a caught fly ball, even foul, is live. But does the bunt attempt supersede it?

2) If that is the case, it is a TOP play, right?

I have pored over J/R and can't find a definitive ruling. Anyone have the EXACT ruling to substantiate our call here?

My test has already been submitted and I passed. My questions are for discussion and improvement only. Thanks again.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 12, 2011 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 729201)
I have a lote/hate relationship with these questions. I enjoy discussing them but hate seeing them on tests. I appreciate the thoughts but want to ask a couple things:
1) The batted ball is not foul until it is touched while on or over foul terrirtory. By definition, it is a dead ball at the time that happens, right?

Read tehe "when a ball becomes dead" section (I'm without my books, so that might not be the correct title). Does it say the ball is dead on a foul, or on an UNCAUGHT foul?

yawetag Sat Feb 12, 2011 09:25am

5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when— (e) A foul ball is not caught; runners return. The umpire shall not put the ball in play until all runners have retouched their bases;

6.05 A batter is out when— (a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder;
Comment: Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead.

A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession.

JJ Sat Feb 12, 2011 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 729201)
I have a lote/hate relationship with these questions. I enjoy discussing them but hate seeing them on tests.

I hate seeing a lot of them in the games! :D

JJ

MikeStrybel Sun Feb 13, 2011 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 729204)
Read tehe "when a ball becomes dead" section (I'm without my books, so that might not be the correct title). Does it say the ball is dead on a foul, or on an UNCAUGHT foul?

Bob,
A foul is not foul until touched or it comes to a stop on foul ground. As this ball was touched and secured, as the result of an attempted bunt with two strikes, by rule it should be immediately dead. Obviously we have an issue of whether the foul third strike supersedes a foul catch. So far I haven't seen anything that I can use to call this a live ball. I hate these plays but know that it wouldn't be in there unless it happened to one of us and will again. Thanks.

yawetag Sun Feb 13, 2011 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaksa/Roder
A batter is out when
(3) his third strike is uncaught because it was bunted foul,

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim Evans Annotated
5.09(d) Professional Interpretation #1: A ball that is bunted foul on 3rd strike may be caught for an out and the ball remains alive and in play. If it is not caught in flight, the ball is dead and all runners return in accordance with 5.09(d).

What else do you want?

soundedlikeastrike Sun Feb 13, 2011 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 729518)
Bob,
A foul is not foul until touched or it comes to a stop on foul ground. As this ball was touched and secured, as the result of an attempted bunt with two strikes, by rule it should be immediately dead. Obviously we have an issue of whether the foul third strike supersedes a foul catch. So far I haven't seen anything that I can use to call this a live ball. I hate these plays but know that it wouldn't be in there unless it happened to one of us and will again. Thanks.

"Obviously we have an issue of whether the foul third strike supersedes a foul catch."

No, "we" don't. One of us is confusing "touched" with caught, they are not the same.

A ball that is in flight off the bat that is "caught" can never be foul.
It's a caught fly ball and caught fly balls are live.

A ball that was foul, can not be caught, because it either hit (beyond 1B-3B), settled, was touched (read booted), or hit something over foul territory.

MikeStrybel Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 729530)
"Obviously we have an issue of whether the foul third strike supersedes a foul catch."

No, "we" don't. One of us is confusing "touched" with caught, they are not the same.

A ball that is in flight off the bat that is "caught" can never be foul.
It's a caught fly ball and caught fly balls are live.

A ball that was foul, can not be caught, because it either hit (beyond 1B-3B), settled, was touched (read booted), or hit something over foul territory.

My apologies for including you.

For all otherss, I am seeking an official rule book reference for this play.

It is impossible to separate touch and catch on this play. The ball was not bobbled (nor booted) and no mention of an improper release occured. The second the player touched it, it was caught. The ensuing play, as described indicates as much.

Anyone else seen an umpire watch a batted ball get caught in foul territory, signal catch and then point foul? Why indicate the place of catch if a caught fly ball is just a caught fly ball?

Thank you.

MikeStrybel Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 729525)
What else do you want?

Andrew,
Thank you. I saw the J/R reference but it does not provide a ruling. The Jim Evans book is outstanding but not a rule book. I would love to see an NCAA umpire try to show that to a coach.

This is one of those wierd plays that makes me hate umpiring but love the game. I really appreciate the effort to look this up. The NCAA rulings come out in a few days. It looks like I got it wrong but that won't be the first or last time. Have a good season.

yawetag Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 729531)
Anyone else seen an umpire watch a batted ball get caught in foul territory, signal catch and then point foul?

If I did, I'd laugh my *** off. You signal fair/foul, then catch/no catch.

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 729530)
A ball that is in flight off the bat that is "caught" can never be foul.

Try again.

Rich Ives Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 729530)
"A ball that is in flight off the bat that is "caught" can never be foul.

A ball that was foul, can not be caught, because it either hit (beyond 1B-3B), settled, was touched (read booted), or hit something over foul territory.

Absolutely, positively, incorrect. The definition of foul is independent of whether or not it was caught. That's why the dead ball rule says a ball is dead if a foul ball is not caught. It also covers why a caught foul ball is live. It's because a foul can be either caught or not.

ManInBlue Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:08am

This really isn't as complicated as you are trying to make it. There is no need to separate the touch and the catch. He popped it up, it was caught, period.

If he popped it up and F2 attempted to catch the ball, standing 3' in foul territory but bobbled it and the ball fell to the ground in fair territory...we have a touch in or over foul territory and thus a dead ball, foul (then we talk about the count, etc) - and the batter is out because his bunt attempt on the 3rd strike was bunted foul.

Your situation is just a catch, that's all. Forget the 3rd strike, forget the bunt attempt. He popped up to F2 - he's out because F2 CAUGHT THE BALL.

You won't have a coach try to argue the difference in touch and catch in this situation. It's a caught fly ball, the ball is live by definition.

johnnyg08 Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:29am

Please listen and read ManInBlue's post. It really is that simple.

dash_riprock Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 729530)

A ball that is in flight off the bat that is "caught" can never be foul.

What is the mechanic for a fair tip?

bob jenkins Sun Feb 13, 2011 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 729533)
I would love to see an NCAA umpire try to show that to a coach.

NCAA 6-2a. The ball becomes dead and base runners return when A foul is hit that is not caught. Runners return ...

NCAA 8-6.a A runner shall be called out on specifi appeals that are made when:
(1) The base runer does not retouch the base before a fielder tags the runner or the base after a fair or foul fly ball i stouched in making a legal catch.

Can't get any clearer.

yawetag Sun Feb 13, 2011 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 729567)
What is the mechanic for a fair tip?

The same as a foul that's caught. :P

yawetag Sun Feb 13, 2011 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 729533)
I would love to see an NCAA umpire try to show that to a coach.

I would hope an NCAA umpire doesn't show ANYTHING to a coach. If a coach disagrees with your call, he can follow the proper protest procedures.

MikeStrybel Mon Feb 14, 2011 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 729572)
I would hope an NCAA umpire doesn't show ANYTHING to a coach. If a coach disagrees with your call, he can follow the proper protest procedures.

The point I made, badly it seems, is that when discussing NCAA mechanics, a Jim Evans manual is fairly useless for affirming calls at that level. Don't get me wrong, I think Jim is a terrific instructor but his book has little place in an NCAA umpire's bag. I was looking for an NCAA reference and Bob provided it.

Thanks to all for clarifying this play. The exam questions and answers come out soon and I'm sure we'll see more talk about them here.

celebur Tue Feb 15, 2011 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 729134)
My immediate thought is that the batter is out and the ball is dead the second the catcher touches it. Runners cannot advance and must return. Penalties in baseball are designed to punish the person/team at fault - in this case, the batter.

Using that logic, if you call this a dead ball, you are punishing the defense by preventing them from attempting to get a second out on this play. That's not punishing the batter at all!

JerzeeRef Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:01pm

Study Guide
 
Page 29, College Baseball Rules Study Guide.

Batter is out:

D. With two strikes, he bunts foul (7-11i). If the ball is caught in flight, it remains live; otherwise the ball is dead immediately.

johnnyg08 Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JerzeeRef (Post 730503)
Page 29, College Baseball Rules Study Guide.

Batter is out:

D. With two strikes, he bunts foul (7-11i). If the ball is caught in flight, it remains live; otherwise the ball is dead immediately.

I've been reading that one the last couple of weeks too. Now I have that one and the new BRD to page through...that should tie me over until April when I can start umpiring again and the 4 feet of snow is gone.

pastordoug Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:49pm

How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS :) but always trying to learn.

Rich Ives Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pastordoug (Post 731032)
How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS :) but always trying to learn.

7-4-1-e says it's an out for bunting foul on the third strike

and 5-1-1-d-3 says it becomes dead if it becomes an UNCAUGHT foul

bob jenkins Thu Feb 17, 2011 08:28am

This rule is the same in all codes. The batter is out, the ball remains live, runners can attempt to advance, they are subject to appeal if they don't retouch after the ball is touched, ...

jkumpire Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:09am

??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JerzeeRef (Post 730503)
Page 29, College Baseball Rules Study Guide.

Batter is out:

D. With two strikes, he bunts foul (7-11i). If the ball is caught in flight, it remains live; otherwise the ball is dead immediately.

Sir,

What is the College Baseball Rules Study Guide? Where may I purchase this, or read it on the 'net if it exists there?

Thank you

bob jenkins Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 731217)
Sir,

What is the College Baseball Rules Study Guide? Where may I purchase this, or read it on the 'net if it exists there?

Thank you

Order from RefMag

JJ Thu Feb 17, 2011 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 731217)
Sir,

What is the College Baseball Rules Study Guide? Where may I purchase this, or read it on the 'net if it exists there?

Thank you

www.referee.com/magads/2011BS or 800-733-6100

JJ

jkumpire Thu Feb 17, 2011 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 731352)

Link does not work!

johnnyg08 Thu Feb 17, 2011 04:49pm

Go to referee.com and click on the publications link on the left...then click on the word baseball and you'll see it there. it's $20 and a good read.

JJ Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 731368)
Link does not work!

Then use this one -

Study Guide: College Baseball Rules 2011 20% NASO MEMBER DISCOUNT AVAILABLE - applied at checkout :

JJ

yawetag Fri Feb 18, 2011 02:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by pastordoug (Post 731032)
How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS :) but always trying to learn.

How about this from the Fed Case Book:

2.16.1 COMMENT: Determining when the ball becomes dead on a foul is sometimes tricky. With R1 on second and no one out, consider the following: (1) An attempted bunt on third strike by B2 is a foul fly that is caught by F2. B2 would have been out without the catch, but because of the catch, F1 is not credited with a strikeout and R1 may attempt to advance after the catch.

I think we've thorougly beat this horse dead... in all rule codes.

soundedlikeastrike Sun Feb 20, 2011 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 729542)
Absolutely, positively, incorrect. The definition of foul is independent of whether or not it was caught. That's why the dead ball rule says a ball is dead if a foul ball is not caught. It also covers why a caught foul ball is live. It's because a foul can be either caught or not.


The definition of "foul" okay, I see your angle. however none of my OBR based literature offers a definition of FOUL. so don't know where you going with that?

However the OP and my statements concern a "foul ball".

The definition of "foul ball" can very well be dependent on whether caught or not. In the OP as I see the intent, is 100% "dependent" on whether caught or not.

OBR Definition:
A FOUL BALL is a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.

The definition of a catch however, has no dependence on fair or foul.

OBR Definition:
A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession.

soundedlikeastrike Sun Feb 20, 2011 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 729567)
What is the mechanic for a fair tip?

I use the ole; smile, with a wink and the double eye brow raise..

Rich Ives Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 732146)
The definition of "foul" okay, I see your angle. however none of my OBR based literature offers a definition of FOUL. so don't know where you going with that?

However the OP and my statements concern a "foul ball".

The definition of "foul ball" can very well be dependent on whether caught or not. In the OP as I see the intent, is 100% "dependent" on whether caught or not.

OBR Definition:
A FOUL BALL is a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.

The definition of a catch however, has no dependence on fair or foul.

OBR Definition:
A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession.

1) You said none of the literature defines foul then you quote the rule that defines it.

2) You said fair/foul can be dependent on caught or not - but you quoted the rule which makes no mention of the location of the ball.

Lets look at the relevant part:

A FOUL BALL is a batted ball . . . that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.


Was the ball over foul ground - yes.

Did it touch a player while there? - Yes

It's foul.

Caught/Not Caught is completely independent of fair/foul.

Live/dead on a foul ball IS dependent on caught/not caught, but first you have to know 1) was it fair or foul and 2) was it caught or not.

soundedlikeastrike Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 732173)
1) You said none of the literature defines foul then you quote the rule that defines it.

Reminds me of an ole song: here we go roun in circles, see the fly way up in the skyyyy.. I made that part up.

SLAS: NO, I clearly quoted the definition of a "FOUL BALL", as I stated, there is no such beast as "foul". Where I think you and I are on a disconnect is; I use the "definitions" verbatim and firmly believe everybody should.
You would say; a ball hit over foul territory is a foul ball no matter what happens to it.
I say a ball over foul territory that is touched, is a foul ball and is dead and one that is caught over foul territory is a "caught fly ball".

2) You said fair/foul can be dependent on caught or not - but you quoted the rule which makes no mention of the location of the ball.

SLAS: No I clearly said a "foul ball" AND I quoted "a catch", because it is NOT dependent on fair or foul, that's what I was trying to get across. A fly ball that is caught is never foul, or at least there is no worth in noting it either way, so why bother? Or should we refer to the scorekeepers, maybe they care? Oh wait, except; U-Trip SP SB: With one strike if the batter hits a second foul ball, the ball is dead and no runners may advance, except at the Majors Division. Nat. Interp.


Lets look at the relevant part:

A FOUL BALL is a batted ball . . . that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.

SLAS: Okay.

Was the ball over foul ground - yes.
SLAS: WE are clearly in total agreement here, all right!!

Did it touch a player while there? - Yes

SLAS: UH-OH! Here we will disconnect again. NO the ball was not "touched" by a player, it was caught by a player. Hence why, in my original post I tried to clarify that, touch and catch are only used in the same sentence when; considering the legality of a runner re-tagging on a ball which is eventually caught. We must agree, there is a difference between touch and catch? Is a re-tagging runner allowed to leave on a touch or must he wait for the catch, no need to answer, I know we agree on that. If you let that sink in for just a moment, you must agree, there is a difference between the two.
If you don't re-read "a catch" and compare it to the following;
OBR: TOUCH. To touch a player or umpire is to touch any part of his body, his clothing or his equipment. Touch is not, anyway, anywho, related to, or in the same zip code as "a catch".

It's foul.

SLAS: No, it's a caught fly ball, and remains live. I didn't, nor will I go back through this thread and count for you, but all but one poster here by now, agrees; the OP is, "a caught fly ball" that remains in play and will leave the O in jeopardy, because the D may still make a play on them.

Caught/Not Caught is completely independent of fair/foul.
SLAS: Hey were agreeing a lot more.

Live/dead on a foul ball IS dependent on caught/not caught, but first you have to know 1) was it fair or foul and 2) was it caught or not.

SLAS: Dang another disconnect. Live/dead is never dependent of anything on a foul ball, a foul ball by definition and rule is always "dead". Hence why it " a foul ball" can never be caught.

A fly ball over foul territory with a defender under it is neither fair nor foul. The fact that if it were to fall or be touched while over foul territory would make it foul, it is not until, after that "something" happens. If the ball is caught over foul territory it's still in play, why, because it did not become a foul ball.

tiger49 Sun Feb 20, 2011 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 732294)
SLAS: Dang another disconnect. Live/dead is never dependent of anything on a foul ball, a foul ball by definition and rule is always "dead". Hence why it " a foul ball" can never be caught.

A fly ball over foul territory with a defender under it is neither fair nor foul. The fact that if it were to fall or be touched while over foul territory would make it foul, it is not until, after that "something" happens. If the ball is caught over foul territory it's still in play, why, because it did not become a foul ball.

5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when—

e) A foul ball is not caught, in which case runners return to their bases. The umpire-inchief shall not put the ball in play until all runners have retouched their bases;

Live/dead is always dependent on one thing on a foul ball. Wither it was caught or uncaught. Uncaught, ball is dead. Caught the ball remains live.

The rulebook is meant to be read, not for you to just look at the nice little diagrams.

Rich Ives Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 732294)
SLAS: Dang another disconnect. Live/dead is never dependent of anything on a foul ball, a foul ball by definition and rule is always "dead". Hence why it " a foul ball" can never be caught.

You're kidding - right? Read these:

The 2.00 definition of Foul Ball which you posted above.

5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when—
(e) A foul ball is not caught, in which case runners return to their bases. This is necessary because "caught" is the other possible outcome

6.05 A batter is out when—
(a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder;

Rule 6.05(a) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead.


7.08 Any runner is out when—
(d) He fails to retouch his base after a fair or foul ball is legally caught before he, or his base, is tagged by a fielder.

10.08 SACRIFICES
The official scorer shall:
(d) Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that
(1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or
(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer’s judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught.

UmpTTS43 Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 732348)
You're kidding - right? Read these:

The 2.00 definition of Foul Ball which you posted above.

5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when—
(e) A foul ball is not caught, in which case runners return to their bases. This is necessary because "caught" is the other possible outcome

6.05 A batter is out when—
(a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder;

Rule 6.05(a) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead.


7.08 Any runner is out when—
(d) He fails to retouch his base after a fair or foul ball is legally caught before he, or his base, is tagged by a fielder.

10.08 SACRIFICES
The official scorer shall:
(d) Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that
(1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or
(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer’s judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught.

Rich is correct. This is why you point fair or foul on a caught fly ball near the line. You are signaling either a fair fly out or foul fly out.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 21, 2011 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 732378)
Rich is correct. This is why you point fair or foul on a caught fly ball near the line. You are signaling either a fair fly out or foul fly out.

Plus, the ball is fair or foul as soon as it's touched. It doesn't become caught until some time later (it might be just an instant later).

Rich Mon Feb 21, 2011 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 732454)
Plus, the ball is fair or foul as soon as it's touched. It doesn't become caught until some time later (it might be just an instant later).

Exactly. The reason we point fair when it's touched is the player could fall or take a few more steps and run into a fence that separates the player from the ball and we'd have no catch with the player now 10 feet or more in foul ground. Pretty hard to sell a fair ball at this point. Point the ball fair on the touch and follow the rest of the play until we either have a catch or no catch.

jkumpire Mon Feb 21, 2011 09:56am

Shock
 
Gentlemen,

Four pages on this?

Has umpiring and rules knowledge gotten so bad in our country that fundamentals 1st year guys should know before they start umpiring disappeared?

I am concerned. :eek::confused::mad::(

UmpTTS43 Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 732460)
Exactly. The reason we point fair when it's touched is the player could fall or take a few more steps and run into a fence that separates the player from the ball and we'd have no catch with the player now 10 feet or more in foul ground. Pretty hard to sell a fair ball at this point. Point the ball fair on the touch and follow the rest of the play until we either have a catch or no catch.

Yea yea, that too.

MrUmpire Mon Feb 21, 2011 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 732471)
Gentlemen,

Four pages on this?

Has umpiring and rules knowledge gotten so bad in our country that fundamentals 1st year guys should know before they start umpiring disappeared?

I am concerned. :eek::confused::mad::(


No need for concern. The number of informed umpires in this thread is far larger than the number of the uninformed and stubborn.

On any board and in any association, there's always one.

ManInBlue Mon Feb 21, 2011 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 732471)
Gentlemen,

Four pages on this?

Has umpiring and rules knowledge gotten so bad in our country that fundamentals 1st year guys should know before they start umpiring disappeared?

I am concerned. :eek::confused::mad::(

Yeah...4 pages to discuss the differentiation in 'touch' and 'catch' on a caught pop up. I've been a little concerned for 2 or three pages now.:D

MikeStrybel Tue Feb 22, 2011 09:57am

The NCAA test review is out and it seems that I answered this question correctly. I appreciate those of you who offered rulings, even if they weren't relevant to NCAA ball. Good luck this season.

celebur Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 732851)
The NCAA test review is out and it seems that I answered this question correctly. I appreciate those of you who offered rulings, even if they weren't relevant to NCAA ball. Good luck this season.

Can you post the exact wording of this question from the NCAA exam?

johnnyg08 Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:06pm

Can you post the entire NCAA exam? (not your results, but the questions would be great)

bob jenkins Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 733741)
Can you post the entire NCAA exam? (not your results, but the questions would be great)

Only by cutting and pasting every one of 105 (or some such number) question.

MikeStrybel Thu Feb 24, 2011 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by celebur (Post 733737)
Can you post the exact wording of this question from the NCAA exam?

My apologies for not posting the entire exam, but it is lengthy.

Here is the question from my 50 questions:

R1. The batter has fouled off the first two sacrifice bunt attempts. The batter attempts to bunt a third time but pops it up where F2 makes the catch in fould territory. R1 was moving on the pitch and F2's throw to first arrives before R1 can get back.

a. The batter is out and the ball is dead immediately.

b. R1 is not called out.

c. The result is an immediate dead ball when the catcher touches the foul pop up.

d. This results in a double play.

The answer is d.

I met with some NCAA officials who had this question too but contend that it was worded poorly. They insist that just because the throw arrived prior to the runner does not mean the runner is out and d assumes something not presented. I guess that means that they believe the play is an immediate dead ball then. Undoubtedly, I will be working the bases when this play happens to them. ;)

Rich Ives Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 733857)
They insist that just because the throw arrived prior to the runner does not mean the runner is out and d assumes something not presented.


Translation: When they took the test they got the answer wrong and are too pig-headed to admit they were wrong.

dash_riprock Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 733857)
My apologies for not posting the entire exam, but it is lengthy.

Here is the question from my 50 questions:

R1. The batter has fouled off the first two sacrifice bunt attempts. The batter attempts to bunt a third time but pops it up where F2 makes the catch in fould territory. R1 was moving on the pitch and F2's throw to first arrives before R1 can get back.

a. The batter is out and the ball is dead immediately.

b. R1 is not called out.

c. The result is an immediate dead ball when the catcher touches the foul pop up.

d. This results in a double play.

The answer is d.

I met with some NCAA officials who had this question too but contend that it was worded poorly. They insist that just because the throw arrived prior to the runner does not mean the runner is out and d assumes something not presented. I guess that means that they believe the play is an immediate dead ball then. Undoubtedly, I will be working the bases when this play happens to them. ;)

I don't see any problem with the wording of this question. It's a foul out and a successful retouch appeal on R1. 2 outs. What does answer "d" assume that wasn't presented? The only thing I can think of is that the question doesn't say the base was tagged. "F2's throw to first arrives before R1 can get back" is enough for me.

MikeStrybel Thu Feb 24, 2011 02:14pm

The old Fed test used to be this way. Some umpires read things that weren't there and sometimes the rule writers meant to write one thing but didn't, thus corrections to scores.

In other news, I just read that three MLB umpires are officially retiring, giving the chance to guys who have been waiting a long time. That's nice to see.

celebur Fri Feb 25, 2011 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 733857)
My apologies for not posting the entire exam, but it is lengthy.

Here is the question from my 50 questions:

R1. The batter has fouled off the first two sacrifice bunt attempts. The batter attempts to bunt a third time but pops it up where F2 makes the catch in fould territory. R1 was moving on the pitch and F2's throw to first arrives before R1 can get back.

a. The batter is out and the ball is dead immediately.

b. R1 is not called out.

c. The result is an immediate dead ball when the catcher touches the foul pop up.

d. This results in a double play.

The answer is d.

Did you answer d? I thought you answered that it was a dead ball, and you later said you got it right. But here you say that d is correct, so I'm confused about that.

Quote:

I met with some NCAA officials who had this question too but contend that it was worded poorly. They insist that just because the throw arrived prior to the runner does not mean the runner is out and d assumes something not presented. I guess that means that they believe the play is an immediate dead ball then. Undoubtedly, I will be working the bases when this play happens to them. ;)
Or it could mean that they think b is correct; that answer does not assume a dead ball, and it does not assume that the appeal was properly executed.

ManInBlue Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 733860)
Translation: When they took the test they got the answer wrong and are too pig-headed to admit they were wrong.

My thoughts exactly! I see nothing left out here. It's rather straight forward.

MrUmpire Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 733963)
In other news, I just read that three MLB umpires are officially retiring, giving the chance to guys who have been waiting a long time. That's nice to see.

And old news. Promotions were announced some time ago.

DG Sun Feb 27, 2011 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 733860)
Translation: When they took the test they got the answer wrong and are too pig-headed to admit they were wrong.

There is an appeal process, 10 days I think after the test. I have done it and you win some and some they simply will not admit so you get no relief. I used to think it important to appeal when the answer key is wrong, but since they are pig-headed I no longer do it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1