The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Batted Ball Hitting Runner (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/61648-batted-ball-hitting-runner.html)

Suudy Wed Feb 02, 2011 08:50pm

Batted Ball Hitting Runner
 
I've had a long standing argument with a buddy of mine. I'm not a baseball official (only football), so I don't have a great understanding of all the rules. My buddy has never officiated, though he did spend a year a couple of years in the minors (Clearwater and Batavia).

Here's the situation. Runners on 2nd and 3rd, no outs. F5 is playing up close. The batter, rather than bunting, hits a ground ball between 2nd and 3rd. F5 makes a dive, misses, and the batted ball hits the baserunner going from 2nd to 3rd. My buddy says the runner is out. I say the contact is ignored since it went past a fielder. Perhaps it is different for MLB vs NFHS vs other rules. But I'm curious about the ruling.

Thanks!

bob jenkins Wed Feb 02, 2011 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy (Post 725443)
I've had a long standing argument with a buddy of mine. I'm not a baseball official (only football), so I don't have a great understanding of all the rules. My buddy has never officiated, though he did spend a year a couple of years in the minors (Clearwater and Batavia).

Here's the situation. Runners on 2nd and 3rd, no outs. F5 is playing up close. The batter, rather than bunting, hits a ground ball between 2nd and 3rd. F5 makes a dive, misses, and the batted ball hits the baserunner going from 2nd to 3rd. My buddy says the runner is out. I say the contact is ignored since it went past a fielder. Perhaps it is different for MLB vs NFHS vs other rules. But I'm curious about the ruling.

Thanks!

FED and NCAA: If F6 has a play, R2 is out, otherwise, R2 is not out.

OBR: If the ball went "immediately past" F5, then R2 is not out-- he could have reasonably expected F5 to maek a play -- unless F6 also has a play, in which case R2 is out. If the ball did not go "immedaitely past" F5, the R2 is out.

Suudy Thu Feb 03, 2011 08:53pm

I see we were both correct....sorta.

I didn't consider F6. My point of view was that only F5 had a play. I think he considered F6, but didn't consider that F6 was not in position.

Thanks for the clarification.

sandrosina Fri Feb 04, 2011 05:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy (Post 725443)
I've had a long standing argument with a buddy of mine. I'm not a baseball official (only football), so I don't have a great understanding of all the rules. My buddy has never officiated, though he did spend a year a couple of years in the minors (Clearwater and Batavia).

Here's the situation. Runners on 2nd and 3rd, no outs. F5 is playing up close. The batter, rather than bunting, hits a ground ball between 2nd and 3rd. F5 makes a dive, misses, and the batted ball hits the baserunner going from 2nd to 3rd. My buddy says the runner is out. I say the contact is ignored since it went past a fielder. Perhaps it is different for MLB vs NFHS vs other rules. But I'm curious about the ruling.

Thanks!

If there is another infield that can play the batted ball, R2 is out (batter is awared in 1° e R3 return in 3°). Otherwise the ball is live.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1