![]() |
NCAA Test Question
This is a question from the NCAA test. The NCAA OBS rule is now the same as OBR. Let me know what you think and why. I believe there is no correct answer.
R1, R3, no outs. R1 is stealing and gets caught in a rundown and is obstructed. After obstruction has been called on F4, R3 is thrown out at the plate. a. R1 is returned to first base and R3 is awarded home. b. Award R1 third base on the obstruction. c. R3 is awarded home since he was advancing to the plate when obstruction was called and R1 is awarded second base. d. The out on R3 stands |
Quote:
I assumed it was type 1 obs, but either way you make awards that in your judgement, nullify the act of obs. For me that was R1 getting his entitled 1 base and R3, getting home. The question does not paint a clear enough picture either way. |
Gotta go with "C". It's the most correct, type A, with your judgement that R3"could" have made it home had there not been any obs on R1.
|
Quote:
If I am wrong I welcome the advice since I have to take the test too. Good luck. |
Quote:
It is Type I (Type a in OBR), so the ball is dead and R1 must be awarded second. C is the only answer that includes that. I agree that the part in the answer dealing with R3 is not necessarily correct, so a slightly different play on the field might result in a slightly different ruling thatn on the test question. |
Sorry, this can be found in NCAA 2-54 Type 1 Obstruction on page 36.
I referred to it as Type A, like Evans did on Sunday. |
Quote:
|
Two more questions:
2. R2, R3, two outs. The pitcher bobbles a come-backer and seeing that he has no play at 1B, throws to F5 who tags out R2. However, R2 was obstructed by F6 on his way to third. The BR rounds first base too wide and F5 throws behind the BR and the BR is called out. a.The ball is "dead" on the obstruction of R2 by F6. Score R3, award R2 third and award BR second if he had touched first before the obstruction of R2. b.R2 is out for the third out. The other action occurred after the side had been retired. c.Inning is over, the out stands for the third out. d.If R3 has not touched home when the BR is called out, the run would not count. 3. The pitch clock is paused for any of the following reasons, a.A fielder is delayed in returning to his position after attempting to field a foul ball. b.The batter is delayed in returning to the dirt area around home plate following his running out of a foul ball. c.The pitcher is delayed in returning to the dirt circle because he was backing up a play. d.The pitcher disengages the pitching rubber. |
Quote:
a. Common sense application. Safety supersedes speed - prompt the player and then resume the clock when he and the batter are ready. I assume the pitcher is since you started the clock. b. Described in the CCA on page 23, play 12. The clock restarts when the pitcher and batter are both ready. c. The clock should never have started since the pitcher is not in possession of the ball while on the mound. Start a new 20 seconds. d. Unless it is a common sense pause for tying a shoe, swatting a bug, wiping sweat or cleaning glasses the clock should not have stopped. Since it was paused we can assume one of these things happened, right? Resume when he and the batter are ready after prompting. |
Quote:
3 has to be a mistake. A, B and C are all valid reasons to pause the clock, D is not. The question should read: "In which of the following situations should the pitch clock not be paused?" |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If it was Type 1, then the first two parts of A are correct, but I'd disagree with the award to BR (and the reasoning). Quote:
Good questions by Ceasers Ghost and UMPTTS43. I'm sure I'll see one or more of them on my test. |
Quote:
I would agree except that it is contrary to the video shown at the NCAA clinic this weekend. I may be confused but if a runner is advancing and the ball is being thrown there to put him out, a play is being made on him. It doesn't have to be a rundown or force play. The throw was directly from F1 to F5 in an effort to put out the runner, right? The bobble doesn't mean much. I hate those questions. Assuming more than what is written is always something that trips me up. Did you get that answer correct on the exam? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In the additional questions posed, the first question is too vague to make a correct ruling from the options given, although d seems the most likely. We need to know when the obs occurred in relation to the throw to F5 in order to determine either type 1 or type 2 obs. If it is type 2, we need to know whether or not U3 is protecting R2 to third. For those reasons, b, c, or d could be correct. I also agree that the second question was miswritten and should have had NOT included. |
Have the 2011 Rules Supplement (handed out at the clinics) in front of you when you take the test. Some of the questions are taken directly from the "Test Your Rules Knowledge" section on page 10.
|
Thanks for the help. Still not sure what I am going to do.
One more, does NCAA have the same ruling about a batted ball that could go fair as pro rules has? That makes the difference between c and d being correct. 4. R1, R2, R3, one out. B5 lays down a "suicide squeeze" bunt that rolls into foul territory near the first base foul line. The ball is rolling back towards the foul line with a chance to roll fair. The pitcher instructs the catcher to "touch it foul" at which time the catcher scoops up the ball with the mask he is holding in his throwing hand. a.Score one run and put the batter at first base. b.Score three runs and put the batter at first base. c.Foul ball. d.Score three runs and put the batter at third base. |
Quote:
|
Gentlemen, FYI, when you take and submit the test it will only tell you how many you missed (if you didn't get them all correct). It will not tell you which ones you missed (or what the correct answers should have been).
I took my test last night and didn't get them all correct, but I'll have to wait a couple of weeks until the key is posted to see which ones I missed and what the right answers should have been. Overall I thought the test was good, but I also think the NCAA could use a few more proof readers to catch the poorly written questions. JJ |
Quote:
8-3-g only speaks of detached equipment with regards to fair batted balls. That would be a three base award. That eliminates b and d. As the ball was touched by the player in foul territory I don't see how I can award a base which would force a run to score. I will take the test tonight or tomorrow and hope our discussion helps settle things. If I am incorrect in my application of rule here please let me know. Thanks. |
Quote:
|
Thanks for all the replies.
Since we know that the ball is immediately dead on the OBS and the runner is awarded at least one base, answers a and d are invalid. In no way would you award R1 third for this infraction. B is now done. The answer has to be c, but I would not award R3 home in that situation. Other questions have popped up that are just as vague and/or miswritten. I'm sure the NCAA will come out with rewrites and interps when the testing time is done. |
Man, who writes these NCAA tests? The same guy that writes the NFHS tests? :confused:
|
Quote:
R1 is in a rundown, and gets Obstructed? That is considered a play on a runner, which makes the ball "Dead" and since R3 had not advanced to his next base he is sent back to his base unless he was forced, and in this play R3 was not forced.. Since R1 is awarded 1 base from his last legally touched base R1 would be sent to 2nd. and the same for R3 he gets sent back to his last legally touched base which is 3rd... So really there is no correct answer here.. If you want I can ask to the Pro guys here at school? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Read the supplement. There's some excellent material in there.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I don't see a correct answer. Obstructed runner being played upon advances one base, ball is dead and all other runners are awarded the base they would have achieved, absent the dead ball. Since R3 was thrown out at home it is not likely he would have achieved home so he should not be awarded home, he should be returned to 3b since the ball was dead when the out was made. C is closest answer but don't seem right to me.
Can't see an out after a dead ball, and hard to see R3 awarded home since he can't reasonably be expected to have achieved it absent the obstruction. I am assuming that R3 did not pull up and stop running when type 1 obstruction was called and that was reason for him being thrown out, in which case C is surely correct. In any event C is best answer of the ones provided. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It seems test writers get wacky scenarios in their head which evaluate the test takers' ability to turn words into situations on the field and infer things rather than just test rules knowledge and application. This is one of them.
I'd answer (c) and wait for TTS to call BS on the question during the review session. All you need to know is that when a play is being made on an OBS runner, the ball is dead immediately. That runner is awarded the next base automatically, and more if in the umpire's judgment he would have achieved them. All other runners are placed where they would have been had OBS not occurred, in the umpire's judgment. They may advance automatically as well if forced by the obstructed runner's advancement. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31am. |