![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Out on the physical assist. (A runner who has scored is no longer a runner.) The umps got the call right. The announcers claim, over broadly, that "you can't touch a baserunner who is a live runner."
I don't know whether OBR (like some other codes) includes a tap on the shoulder to get the runner's attention. I always figured the touch had to be an actual physical assist like a push or a pull.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Sun Aug 29, 2010 at 03:25pm. |
|
|||
|
I couldn't get the video to run (problem on my end) but I did see it on Sportscenter. Despite what the announcers stated, he was clearly out on interference. The runner lowered his shoulder and hit the catcher who did not possess the ball and missed the plate in the process. This business of aiding or assisting the runner by another player is not backed up by the rules. Where do you guys come up with this? What rule do you use?
It amazes me that a seasoned announcer like Bob Carpenter would assume that an out was called because of a rule that doesn't exist. After all, it makes sense. He was redirected and assisted by his teammates. As umpires, we should know the rules, or at least take a run at the rule book before speculating on a message board. Easy interference. The runner went out of his way to prevent the catcher from making a play.
|
|
|||
|
callstrikes,
Quote:
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Morgan was not ejected.
The official box score (MLB.com) lists 2 ejections. Nationals pitcher Scott Olsen (who was on the bench) and Nats first base coach Dan Radison. Both were ejected on the same play by Rob Drake (1stBU) in the 3rd inning. The play was an interference call by Drake on Ian Desmond who had bunted and was ruled out of the running lane by Drake and interfering with the throw by Nats the pitcher Lohese who had fielded the bunt. Lohes's throw went by F3 for a two base throwing error which (at the time) resulted in a Nats runner scoring. Last edited by KJUmp; Mon Aug 30, 2010 at 05:18am. |
|
|||
|
I might have had USC on the run into the catcher. No INT as there was no play. Why the out I don't know. It ain't INT by a teamate IMHO. While Pudge was no longer a runner and might be a teammate, Morgan also was no longer a runner. Even if he was I don't see where the rule could apply to this.
|
|
|||
|
In 2007, Josh Phelps of the Yankees deliberately went out of his way to crash Kenji Johjima of the Mariners. Johjima had positioned his foot to block the plate, but the rest of him was leaning out toward the outfield. The arrival of the ball was not imminent; in fact, in not even sure the throw ever did come home.
Phelps could have scored easily but opted instead for an obvious unnecessary standing-up crash that would have merited ejection in Fed and NCAA, but in MLB it's a no call. However, we all know what happened when Phelps came to bat the next time. Morgan gave an unnecessary push, but it hardly qualified as a crash. Morgan also was no longer a runner. He missed the plate and could still legally return to touch it, so he was still a runner. If he had touched the plate, he couldn't have subsequently been called out.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Sun Aug 29, 2010 at 07:39pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Bill Ladson writing on MLB.com confirms that Angel Hernandez made the call. Morgan out as a result on Rodriguez assisting the runner (Morgan). |
|
|||
|
Angel made up a rule.
|
|
|||
|
Did the Nats protest?
That would clear up the situation. My opinion is the umps goofed.
Impede the defense is hard to interpret when there is no ball in the catcher's hand. I have no interference. Now if the ball was bounding toward the plate, then Pudges action may be regarded as interference. The first baseman made no attempt to make a play on the runner by holding onto the ball, no interference. The coach cannot touch a player. The players can touch and often do when they run into each other on the baseline and one pushes the other toward one of the bases. I have been told that if a player is injured while running the bases, his baserunning teammate can pick him up and carry him home as long as he does not pass. (e) Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate;
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Aug 29, 2010 at 11:00pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|