![]() |
Runner hit by batted ball- retroactive call? (Phils/Yanks 6/17)
Hi friends, been retired too long to think this through. Play was meaningless in the scope of the game, but something doesn't smell right to me.
2 outs, bases full. Grounder to short which strikes R2 on the foot (in front of the SS- no doubt what the call *should* be). No call. Two runners cross the plate. Defense runs off the field. U3 and U2 talk briefly, then call in U1 and HPU. After a fairly lengthy discussion, R2 is called out and the inning ends. Is this a "legal" reversal? I'm thinking this is a "see it, call it" play where any ump who saw the batted ball hit R2 should kill the play immediately? Thanks for the opinions.... |
This is a correctable error. Two outs. Don't have to place runners. Dead ball, three outs. Probably didn't look great...but they got it right. If you're not sure on a play like that, they are probably trained to let it happened, talk about it, and if you can get the play right w/o screwing things up more...you get the play right. Sounds good to me.
|
thanks..."correctable"....that's the word I couldn't find....been waaaay too long....:o
|
Quote:
|
I can see them letting the play go on as was stated previously. This is a correctable call and if no call is made, it can be easily corrected.
|
My take is that not one of them actually saw it. Here's the way I see that discussion playing out:
U2: Did you see it hit the runner?? U3: Nope. Lets ask the other guys. HEY GUYS COME HERE..... U2: Did either of you see it hit the runner? U1: Nope. I was moving to get the play at first. HP: Nope. I woulda called it if I saw it. U2: Well, the ball went 3 feet wide of the shortstop who was poised to make a play. U1: And the entire defense just ran to the dugout as soon as it happened. HP: So everybody in the place thinks the ball hit him except us. U2: Yep. And the team on offense is up 6 runs in the ninth inning. U3: And the team on defense in the home team. HP: So if we don't make the call these fans may go ballistic. U1: And if we do make the call, the offensive team probably won't argue all that much. U2: Can we legally correct the call? HP: Who cares. The call won't effect the outcome of the game and I wanna get out of here alive. U2 (leaving the huddle): OOOOOOUUUUUUUUTTTTTTT !!!!!! :D |
According to a blurb in the local fishwrap, there was some other reversal yesterday. R2, low liner to short. U2 calls it a catch, and F6 steps on second to appeal R2 leaving early. Inning ends, teams change sides, umpires huddle. Determine it wasn't a catch, call BR out and put R2 at third (saying that's the likely outcome if "no catch" had been called in the first place). Make teams switch again. Next batter lines out to officially end the inning.
Lah me. It's a brave new world. |
Quote:
http://houston.astros.mlb.com/news/a...=.jsp&c_id=hou |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Interesting play for sure. They had to assume that F6 would make the play successfully at F3, which is pretty fair at the MLB level. They had to give the defense an out somewhere. It is a new world of umpiring out there, that's for sure. For the most part, I think it's a good thing.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39am. |