The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Missed Base - Homerun (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/58422-missed-base-homerun.html)

yawetag Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 682303)
In OBR he can legally return. He would only forfeit the right if he touched 3B after the ball went dead.

And, if I remember past discussions, he would originally be awarded home, but once he retouched 1B, the award would change to 3B.

yawetag Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by txump81 (Post 682347)
Honestly, I don't think a coach would know the difference. At least not the ones I have umpired for. They know the basics and only care about the advanced stuff IF it benefits them.

They still don't know the advanced stuff when it benefits them. They only think they know it, and try to twist it to make it work for them.

txump81 Fri Jun 18, 2010 06:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 682445)
They still don't know the advanced stuff when it benefits them. They only think they know it, and try to twist it to make it work for them.

Absolutely!!! You have summed it up nicely. I was a little vague.

mbyron Fri Jun 18, 2010 06:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 682432)
Contrary to your belief, it is not terminology in order to make crap up. Since the rule book contains many errors, omissions, and discrepencies, those are the guidelines that are used when determining rule interpretations. You may not like it, but that is the way it is. If you don't believe me, plunk down some cash and attend some higher education concerning baseball.

Thanks for the advice, but I don't recall Evans ever using the expression "spirit of the game." Maybe consider practicing what you preach?

mbyron Fri Jun 18, 2010 06:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule (Post 682413)
I know I've seen gross miss and would have bet it was from the J/R, but all I see is "complete bypass" and "more than a body length." The BRD also uses those terms. On a quick look, I don't see the play covered in the PBUC.

My 2006 BRD also cites Play 6-4 when apparently they meant Play 5-4, a mistake that creates serious confusion.

From the 2006 BRD "ruling": "'Last time by' applies to situations where the runner could have touched the base but missed it by less than his body's length."

I, too, found "more than a body length" in J/R (ch. 9, sec. 2). As near as I can tell it's one of those things they made up, like "relaxed/unrelaxed." It fills a vacuum and is useful, and in the absence of conflicting authority I'd use it. Still, I'd like to read it somewhere else...

bob jenkins Fri Jun 18, 2010 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 682463)
I, too, found "more than a body length" in J/R (ch. 9, sec. 2). As near as I can tell it's one of those things they made up, like "relaxed/unrelaxed." It fills a vacuum and is useful, and in the absence of conflicting authority I'd use it. Still, I'd like to read it somewhere else...

I went to a Gerry Davis clinic many years ago and asked about this. He used the term "gross miss" and indicated that a "gross miss" could not be corrected by "last time by".

I also asked about it at an NCAA clinic. Yeast (who was in charge at the time) indicated that a "gross miss" could be corrected by "last time by" in NCAA.

As far as I can recall, both used that term (with examples).

UmpTTS43 Fri Jun 18, 2010 09:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 682462)
Thanks for the advice, but I don't recall Evans ever using the expression "spirit of the game." Maybe consider practicing what you preach?

You're right. I don't recall him using the expression "spirit of the game" when discussing rules and rule situations. But he did use "spirit of the rule", the same expression I used in my earlier post.

Maybe consider reading correctly before you decide to quote.

Steven Tyler Fri Jun 18, 2010 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 682262)
Ball was dead when it left the yard.

I prefer to use the term the ball is on life support since you still can have coaches' interference. I would think the term, end of playing action, would be more appropriate.

DG Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Tyler (Post 682490)
I prefer to use the term the ball is on life support since you still can have coaches' interference. I would think the term, end of playing action, would be more appropriate.

Coach interference, on a home run? How you figure? In any event, the correct term is the ball is dead when it leaves the yard.

SAump Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:16pm

Fed rules?
 
If she remained in fair territory, I would allow her to correct the base running mistake. If after passing third, she steps into foul territory, I would rule on the missed base appeal.

txump81 Sat Jun 19, 2010 05:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 682547)
Coach interference, on a home run? How you figure? In any event, the correct term is the ball is dead when it leaves the yard.

BR rounds 3B and misses the base, 3BC grabs BR and stops him/her to keep them from reaching the plate.

Coach Interference, BR is out.

It could happen. Anything is possible.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1