![]() |
Balk plus Ball
Impossible I thought, when answering a question about a pitch delivered when a balk was called. I was right about that but I had some free time and was perusing the OBR rule book I got from the PONY guys and there it says in 8.02 PENALTY (a)(2)-(6): (d):"..............automatic ball and, if there are any runners on base, a balk".
Very rare because it penalizes a doctored ball. But learn something new every time you sit on the john. Maybe the pre season talk about a balk for going to the mouth came from misreading this which exempts 8.01(a)(1) from this penalty. Anybody ever called this? |
Does it mean "ball" w/ no runners on base, and "balk" with runners on base?
I don't think you can have both. Certainly I may learn something here. Too late to look anything up for me tonight. |
It's a poorly written sentence, not a freak rule. This has been pointed out before. Sometimes you have to understand the game.
|
It should read "If no runners are on base it's an automatic ball, and if there are runners on base it is a balk." It is a mistake in the new rule. The old rule called for a warning, a ball, and announcement. Now the rule is automatic ejection and suspension. It is only a ball or balk if the offense elects not to take the result of the play. If they do take the play, play on McDuff but the pitcher still gets tossed.
|
Quote:
Better: If no runners are on base it's an automatic ball; with runners on base it is a balk. Shall we turn this into a "let's rewrite OBR" thread? :D |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Post the rewritten rule.
|
Quote:
|
From MLB.com:
8.02 PENALTY (d) If the manager of the team at bat does not elect to accept the play, the umpire-in-chief shall call an automatic ball and, if there are any runners on base, a balk. Find it hard to believe they would let this wording get through in a rewrite and not mean it. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
2. This is why you should be coachjim and not umpjim. You haven't a clue. |
Somebody in this thread said it was a rewrite.
My old LLGB has the old wording which usually matches OBR and it is different. I don't have any older OBR books to compare. So, I believe it is a rewrite and not one of the errors we all know about in the rules. It might be a new error but you haven't given me any proof of that. I believe a lot of what is posted here. If you can give me a cite or the previous discussion of this particular error I would appreciate it. I am aware of the errors that exist in OBR. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am. |