The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 17, 2002, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Originally posted by blscots6

This happened the other day on a dropped third strike with first base open. The ball caromed up the 1st base line and struck the runner on his way to first. What is the ruling?

As you can tell from the responses, for the most part this is nothing, but there could be a debate depending upon which Authoritative source one is reading. For the most part this is a simple play but nothing CONCRETE in OBR.

However, in HS played by FED rules, your particular thread is Spelled out in their case book.

FED Case Play 2.21.1(c)

With 2 outs, B1 strikes out, but F2 drops the ball, which rebounds into B1's path. As B1 begins running to first, B1 accidentally kicks the ball.

Ruling: B1 is NOT guilty of interference and the ball remains alive, unless in the umpire's judgement B1 INTENTIONALLY kicked the ball.

Under all 3 major rule books, your play is nothing, however, in OBR there could be a case (as Tee points out) to rule otherwise. Not so in FED.

Pete Booth

__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1