The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2002, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 286
Question

It's almost a "You had to be there" scenario, wouldn't you think? R3's baseline is a "direct line from where he's at, to the base he's headed." Assume there's no issue with where F1 is standing. F2, according to the originator is mirrored to F1, putting F2 in foul territory 1'-2' from the line. R3 technically has 1-1/2 feet on either side of his baseline where he can run without avoiding a tag and being called out for that reason. If he chose to run around F2, rather than F2 impeding or obstructing R3's advance, you could have an "Out" called on R3. Yes? It sure would have been easier to call had R3 continued running straight to home and then colliding with, or being forced to run around F2. I'm not sure I'd call anything in this instance. Let the play stand. Again . . . I think you had to be there.

Jerry
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1