The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Walk-off Walk Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/57703-walk-off-walk-situation.html)

JJ Fri Mar 26, 2010 07:50pm

Walk-off Walk Situation
 
All codes. Bases loaded, bottom of the last inning, TWO OUT, tie score. Batter gets a base on balls. He touches first, the runner from third touches home, but the runner who was on first peeled off to join the celebration without touching second. The defense appealed that the runner did not advance to second and instead abandoned his efforts to run the bases.

Does the run count?

Please cite rules and any other applicable comments (J/R, for example).

JJ

UmpJM Fri Mar 26, 2010 08:02pm

JJ,

OBR, the run scores. 4.09(b)

FED, the run does not.

NCAA...Damn, I can't remember!

JM

Rich Ives Fri Mar 26, 2010 08:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 670869)
All codes. Bases loaded, bottom of the last inning, tie score. Batter gets a base on balls. He touches first, the runner from third touches home, but the runner who was on first peeled off to join the celebration without touching second. The defense appealed that the runner did not advance to second and instead abandoned his efforts to run the bases.

Does the run count?

Please cite rules and any other applicable comments (J/R, for example).

JJ

How many out?

If it wasn't the third out the run always scores.

UmpJM Fri Mar 26, 2010 08:39pm

I concur with Rich.

Shame on me, I was "assuming" two outs.

JM

JJ Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:52pm

Oops, my bad....two out. Potential game ender....

JJ

GerryB Sat Mar 27, 2010 08:01am

Ncaa
 
I'm told that this was addressed at the Philadelphia meeting. It is no longer an appeal play. We are to rule R1 out only if he abandons the baseline prior to the run scoring.

jkumpire Sat Mar 27, 2010 09:36pm

Gerry is correct.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GerryB (Post 670939)
I'm told that this was addressed at the Philadelphia meeting. It is no longer an appeal play. We are to rule R1 out only if he abandons the baseline prior to the run scoring.

I also heard that in Philly.

JJ Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GerryB (Post 670939)
I'm told that this was addressed at the Philadelphia meeting. It is no longer an appeal play. We are to rule R1 out only if he abandons the baseline prior to the run scoring.

I was at the Dallas meeting and this was not extensively addressed. "It is no longer an appeal play" was never mentioned. That's why I posted the question. I'm hoping we see an AR either online or in next year's rule book.

JJ

bob jenkins Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 671030)
I was at the Dallas meeting and this was not extensively addressed. "It is no longer an appeal play" was never mentioned. That's why I posted the question. I'm hoping we see an AR either online or in next year's rule book.

JJ

I seem to recall an OBR interp (MLBUM or PBUS) where "abandonment" was a timing play, not a force play. And, since it usually happens after R3 crosses the plate, then the run counts and there's no need to get the out.

Of course, the defense can still appeal the missed base, and that might change the ruling.

(another possibility, of course, is that I'm mis-remembering this.)

Rich Sun Mar 28, 2010 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 671065)
I seem to recall an OBR interp (MLBUM or PBUS) where "abandonment" was a timing play, not a force play. And, since it usually happens after R3 crosses the plate, then the run counts and there's no need to get the out.

Of course, the defense can still appeal the missed base, and that might change the ruling.

(another possibility, of course, is that I'm mis-remembering this.)

In OBR, only the BR and U3 need to advance. I'll look it up later if I have to. FED it's just the opposite, all have to advance. Apparently there's been a change in NCAA and since I packed that in 2 years ago....

tiger49 Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 671075)
In OBR, only the BR and U3 need to advance. I'll look it up later if I have to. FED it's just the opposite, all have to advance. Apparently there's been a change in NCAA and since I packed that in 2 years ago....

R3? I don't see how U3's advancement has anything to do with this. Other than I he calls it correctly he may move up in ranking. :D;):p

bob jenkins Sun Mar 28, 2010 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 671075)
In OBR, only the BR and U3 need to advance. I'll look it up later if I have to. FED it's just the opposite, all have to advance. Apparently there's been a change in NCAA and since I packed that in 2 years ago....

Yes, if it's a walk.

I was on the similar play where it's a "hit" when I answered.

My miistake

TussAgee11 Sun Mar 28, 2010 07:42pm

Yup Bob, hit is a different scenario for sure. Merkle's boner!

Okay, I'll link what I'm talking about so you all don't get any ideas. Merkle's Boner - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

And to take it one step further, any base award that may end the game, the same situation applies. Just a runner touching home and a batter touching first will do. Unless its off a batted ball with a force play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1