![]() |
|
|||
|
Questions from Richard
R2, R3, extra innings, The defense intentionally walks the batter to load the bases. Manager now calls time (dead ball) and goes out to talk to his pitcher. Then, F3 sneakily keeps the ball and the pitcher mounts the rubber without the ball. The deceived plate umpire calls "play" and the deceived R1 leads off and is tagged out by F3. U1 calls a balk and the the winning run scores from third; game over; Can this be Done? If yes why? and if No why? or in other words can a BALK be called on a dead ball? > Hi Richard, The ball could not become live on this play since the pitcher did not have the ball. The ball can become live only when the pitcher has the ball on the rubber AND the ball is put in play by the plate umpire (and no other umpire is signaling "time"). In the above play, as soon as it is discovered that the pitcher did not have the ball, the umpires would correct the situation, putting the runners back on their bases and starting over. There is no balk, and there cannot be a balk if the ball is dead. Thanks for your questions! World Umpires Association [Edited by Richardr10 on Aug 7th, 2002 at 11:19 AM] |
| Bookmarks |
|
|