The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 06, 2002, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Porter


Nowhere is there a rule that says a balk cannot be called during a dead ball.

What does it take to "put out" a player?
It takes a play, correct? Jim, can the defense "put out" a runner without a play? I don't think that's possible.
Jim, please describe for me how the defense can retire an offensive player without a play (or a catch)?
(Note: an appeal is a play, however, it's not considered a play for the sake of multiple appeals).


Jim, a balk is a play (despite what you think).
J/R states:
    It is a play if there is a
      (1) tag or tag try of a runner,
      (2) tag or tag try of a base,
      (3) throw to another fielder in a try to put out a runner,
      (4) rundown, or
      (5) balk. [my emphasis]


Can "a play" be made with a dead ball? I say, "No!"
J/R agrees and states:
    Once the ball is dead, an offensive player can advance, but only because of an award resulting from live ball action. Such runner cannot be put out by the defense [my emphasis], but can be declared out by the umpire for abandoning his effort to run the bases or for passing another runner.


Jim, if the defense cannot putout a runner during a dead ball because they cannot make "a play" on him.
A balk is "a play" so it cannot occur during a dead ball. Can any other of the listed "plays" occur during a dead ball? No!!



Can a dead ball be made live if not held by a pitcher on the rubber? I say, "NO!"
J/R agrees and states:
    The ball becomes live again once
      (a) every umpire discontinues his signaling of time, and
      (b) the pitcher has the ball in-contact
      [my emphasis]

      ("In-contact" refers to a pitcher who possesses a live ball and has stepped onto the pitching rubber for the purpose of taking the windup or stretch position.


Jim, I hope this helps you.
Sometimes understanding the rules means correlating the different concepts of the rules that are separately written.
Correlating the rules shows that a balk cannot occur during a dead ball.



Just my opinion,

Freix




[Edited by Bfair on Aug 6th, 2002 at 03:50 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1