The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 22, 2002, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 56
Question

Recently, I was a base umpire for a 16U American League game. R1, and BR slugged a high, arching, fair ball down the first base line. It stayed fair but F9's glove deflected the ball into dead ball territory (dbt). Actually, the ball was deflected into a chain-link fence then rolled under it by about 6". It was retrievable, but none-the-less, dbt. I signaled and called out "dead ball, R1 and BR, take two bases." I sent R1 to third and BR to second. The offensive manager began to hemorrhage right there in the fist-base coach's box!

He said, "That aint no (sic) dead ball. Come on blue, get your head in the game!" I ask the skipper if his car was parked near by, because that's where he was going to spend the rest of the game if he didn't calm down. The game continued and the winning team won and the call make no difference in the final outcome. Whew!!

Later, I looked up 7.05 (f) and damned if it says absolutly nothing about the ball being dead! However, 7.05 (g) says a thrown ball into dbt is dead. Did I screw up? Maybe I should have set out the rest of that game in my car.

Will a few of you smarter guys help me understand?
__________________
Marty
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1