The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Gameplay Situation I need a ruling on (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/54282-gameplay-situation-i-need-ruling.html)

Fivesdadda Tue Aug 11, 2009 09:42am

Gameplay Situation I need a ruling on
 
Here's the situation...
Two outs, runners on second and third. There's a ground ball hit to short and both runners run on contact. The shortstop throws to third and the third baseman completes the tag play on the runner trying to advance to third for the final out of the inning. The batter-runner didn't make it to first before the tag was made, but for arguments sake we'll say the runner from third did cross the plate before the tag was made. Does the run score? Or does the run not count because of the batter not getting to first and the third out of the inning being made?

Any help and/or references to an official rulebook would be incredibly helpful. Thanks guys.

Rich Tue Aug 11, 2009 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fivesdadda (Post 619894)
Here's the situation...
Two outs, runners on second and third. There's a ground ball hit to short and both runners run on contact. The shortstop throws to third and the third baseman completes the tag play on the runner trying to advance to third for the final out of the inning. The batter-runner didn't make it to first before the tag was made, but for arguments sake we'll say the runner from third did cross the plate before the tag was made. Does the run score? Or does the run not count because of the batter not getting to first and the third out of the inning being made?

Any help and/or references to an official rulebook would be incredibly helpful. Thanks guys.

The batter-runner's status is unimportant as the out wasn't on him. R2 wasn't forced to third, so this becomes a time play. Score the run if R3 crossed before R2 was tagged.

Basic rules principles, so you should look up "time play" and "force" and the section that deals with runs scoring.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 09:50am

What did the umpire(s) tell you last night?

nopachunts Tue Aug 11, 2009 09:52am

Umpire Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 619897)
What did the umpire(s) tell you last night?

Now that's a loaded question.

jicecone Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:15am

OBR 4.09 "A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases."

Not sure your going to find a definition of Time-Play in the rule book but, as Rich has stated, it does make reference to the reason the run would score.

SanDiegoSteve Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:15am

Rule 4.09 (a) and see 4.09 COMMENT.

jwwashburn Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:27am

I was BU a couple of years ago on a play very similar to this.

My partner and I were working our third game in VERY hot heat.

He lined it up perfectly and said, "The Run Counts" and pointed.

Then he looked sheepishly at me and said just as loudly, "Of course, because there are now only two outs."

Everybody cracked up.

starman Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:45am

Note that the batter runner still needs to tag first. Otherwise, the defense could get a fourth out at first base. This would nullify the run.

UmpTTS43 Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by starman (Post 619909)
Note that the batter runner still needs to tag first. Otherwise, the defense could get a fourth out at first base. This would nullify the run.

I would LOVE to see this rule.

FWIW J/R is wrong on this in my opinion.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:07am

What page in J/R...I want to check out their take

Ump Rube Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 619912)
I would LOVE to see this rule.

FWIW J/R is wrong on this in my opinion.

Not sure what you mean by this? Rule 7.10d covers 4th outs. Is the "rule" you are referring too the interp from J/R? Please expand on this as I see the defense appealing that the B/R never touched 1B to nullify a run to be a legal & smart play.

UmpTTS43 Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:09pm

Johnnyg - I don't own a J/R manual, but I have been told that they consider a "fourth out appeal" of the BR not reaching 1st a legal appeal.

Rube - 7.10d deals with a missed home plate appeal.

Briefly, I am of the opinion, that once the third out has been recorded, the BR no longer has the responsibility to touch 1st base. There are only four types of appeals that can result in a runner being called out. Out of the four, only three can result in an umpire recognizing an apparent "fourth out." The four are: 1) failure to properly tag up on a caught fly ball, 2) missed base, 3) failure of BR "immediately" returning to 1st after over running it, and 4) missed home plate. Number 3 is irrelevant due to the fact that the BR need not return to 1st base after the third out has been recorded. There is no appeal for "not reaching a base" after three outs have been recorded. An umpire cannot use abandonment in this case either, since abandonment is not an appeal play, thus resulting in a "time" play.

SanDiegoSteve Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump Rube (Post 619916)
Not sure what you mean by this? Rule 7.10d covers 4th outs. Is the "rule" you are referring too the interp from J/R? Please expand on this as I see the defense appealing that the B/R never touched 1B to nullify a run to be a legal & smart play.

4.09(b) and PENALTY is only applicable when it's the winning run in the bottom of the last inning, or the bottom of an extra inning. Then the BR must touch first or the run is nullified. At the end of any other inning, the BR is not required by rule to touch 1st base. If the run scores before the tag on an unforced runner, it counts and position of the BR is irrelevant.

nopachunts Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:35pm

Gameplay situation I need a ruling on
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 619922)
Briefly, I am of the opinion, that once the third out has been recorded, the BR no longer has the responsibility to touch 1st base.

I agree with your opinion if no runners have scored during the play. I will disagree if a runner has scored where the BR was retired for the third out. By rule, if the BR did not reach 1B safely where he would be the third out, no runner can score.

In the OP, Fivesdadda is asking if R3 could score if R3 crossed the plate prior to R2 being tagged out for the third out. If 1B was open and the BR never safely attained 1B, R3's run would not count even though R3 crossed HP prior to R2 being tagged.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:40pm

J/R advantageous 4th out appeal play page citations: 20,32,44,49,77,87

MrUmpire Tue Aug 11, 2009 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 619930)
J/R advantageous 4th out appeal play page citations: 20,32,44,49,77,87

Here is the relevant portion of a post by someone identified as "Wendlestedt" at the Wendlestedt message board:

This is a base (first) never reached, not one which was not touched or not properly tagged up from. There is no appeal for never reaching a base. Unfortunately, neither Jaska and Roder have been in the game for sometime now, and even when they were, they were so analytical with the rules that they often failed to get what the rulebook intended for. That is what I expect happened in this case. They are what we call at umpire school "rule book lawyers".

Walk off Walk - Umpire School Forum

Rich Tue Aug 11, 2009 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 619930)
J/R advantageous 4th out appeal play page citations: 20,32,44,49,77,87

One citation I will happily ignore.

starman Tue Aug 11, 2009 01:29pm

I was not thinking of an appeal play. In the orignal play description, I was thining that the third baseman could throw to first to get a fourth out before the batter reaches first.

I just looked in the MLB rule book, and I confess that I did not find anything that clearly justifies this.

That is why I usually just read this board and keep my mouth shut :)

SanDiegoSteve Tue Aug 11, 2009 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by starman (Post 619936)
I was thining that the third baseman could throw to first to get a fourth out before the batter reaches first.

"I'll do the thining around here, Babalooey!" - Quickdraw McGraw :D

alex7 Tue Aug 11, 2009 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nopachunts (Post 619929)
By rule, if the BR did not reach 1B safely where he would be the third out, no runner can score.

In the OP, Fivesdadda is asking if R3 could score if R3 crossed the plate prior to R2 being tagged out for the third out. If 1B was open and the BR never safely attained 1B, R3's run would not count even though R3 crossed HP prior to R2 being tagged.

I think the rule is no run can score IF the BR is put out before reaching first, not if he doesn't reach first safely. Two different things it seems, and importantly so.

Other posters have shown that not touching first on the OP play is not appealable, so I don't see how you wouldn't count the run nopachunts. Whether he touches first or not is irrelevant on the non-force 3rd out of R2, and the defense can't appeal the BR not touching first. Thus, score the run.

bob jenkins Tue Aug 11, 2009 03:01pm

This play has been around since Al Gore invented the interwebs:

R2, R3, two outs. B5 grounds to F6. As B5 runs toward first, he stumbles, breaks his ankle and lies writhing in pain on the ground. The following happens in order: R3 touches the plate. F6 throws the ball to F5 who tags R2 (three outs). F5 throws to F3 who steps on first (4 outs?).

Does the run count?

Rich Tue Aug 11, 2009 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 619955)
This play has been around since Al Gore invented the interwebs:

R2, R3, two outs. B5 grounds to F6. As B5 runs toward first, he stumbles, breaks his ankle and lies writhing in pain on the ground. The following happens in order: R3 touches the plate. F6 throws the ball to F5 who tags R2 (three outs). F5 throws to F3 who steps on first (4 outs?).

Does the run count?

Day game or night game? :D

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 619955)
This play has been around since Al Gore invented the interwebs:

R2, R3, two outs. B5 grounds to F6. As B5 runs toward first, he stumbles, breaks his ankle and lies writhing in pain on the ground. The following happens in order: R3 touches the plate. F6 throws the ball to F5 who tags R2 (three outs). F5 throws to F3 who steps on first (4 outs?).

Does the run count?

no run?

Welpe Tue Aug 11, 2009 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 619957)
Day game or night game? :D

Later afternoon game that ends in the evening. :D

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 03:59pm

Directly from the MLBUM page 42 in relation to rule 4.09 OBR:

1. No run shall score during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner before he touches first base.
2. No run shall score during a play in which the third out is a force out.
3. Following runners are not affected by an act of a preceeding runner unless two are out.

It doesn't really talk about the advantageous 4th out appeal here. I think they would have to execute the 4th out appeal in order to nullify the run based on #1.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 04:28pm

From OBR rule 7.10, page 74:

Appeal plays may require an umpire to recognize an apparent "fourth out"." If the third out is made during a play in which an appeal play is sustained on another runner, the appeal play decision takes precedence in determining the out. If there is more than one appeal during a play that ends a half-inning, the defense may elect to take the out that gives it the advantage. For the purpose of this rule, the defensive team has "left the field" when the pitcher and all infielders have left fair territory on their way to the bench or clubhouse.

UmpTTS43 Tue Aug 11, 2009 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 619974)
From OBR rule 7.10, page 74:

Appeal plays may require an umpire to recognize an apparent "fourth out"." If the third out is made during a play in which an appeal play is sustained on another runner, the appeal play decision takes precedence in determining the out. If there is more than one appeal during a play that ends a half-inning, the defense may elect to take the out that gives it the advantage. For the purpose of this rule, the defensive team has "left the field" when the pitcher and all infielders have left fair territory on their way to the bench or clubhouse.

Please re-read my post #12 as to what are acceptable appeals for an apparent "fourth out."

2.00 An APPEAL is the act of a fielder in claiming violation of the rules by the offensive team.

There is no rule that requires the BR to touch 1st base after 3 outs have been recorded. No violation, no appeal.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 04:41pm

okay, so are you saying that the run scores? minus the 4th out appeal?

jicecone Tue Aug 11, 2009 04:45pm

An appeal is for a violation of the rules or a base running error. What error happened here? He didn't miss the base because he never got there to begin with.

UmpTTS43 Tue Aug 11, 2009 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 619979)
okay, so are you saying that the run scores? minus the 4th out appeal?

With the classic OP that Bob posted.

Quote:

R2, R3, two outs. B5 grounds to F6. As B5 runs toward first, he stumbles, breaks his ankle and lies writhing in pain on the ground. The following happens in order: R3 touches the plate. F6 throws the ball to F5 who tags R2 (three outs). F5 throws to F3 who steps on first (4 outs?).

Does the run count?
Yes, I am saying the run scores.

The appeal is not recognized as it is not an appealable offense.

SanDiegoSteve Tue Aug 11, 2009 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 619979)
okay, so are you saying that the run scores? minus the 4th out appeal?

No, he's saying that there is no rule requiring BR to touch 1st base after the third out is made, so in this particular circumstance, there is no appeal available, and as such, no 4th out. And yes, the run scores.

Kevin Finnerty Tue Aug 11, 2009 04:51pm

Five pages, I predict. Maybe six.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 05:17pm

Since J/R is only a reference and not official interp...we disallow that interp? J/R says that we do have the advantageous 4th out appeal.

The OP is a time play. 3 outs, inning over.

MrUmpire Tue Aug 11, 2009 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 619989)
Since J/R is only a reference and not official interp...we disallow that interp? J/R says that we do have the advantageous 4th out appeal.

The OP is a time play. 3 outs, inning over.

J/R is not official and has been wrong in more than one ruling. (Roder has admitted an incorrect ruling in the past.)

PBUC advises its umpres to ignore all rulings that do not come from them. Of course, PBUC usually responds to new MLB rulings by adopting them.

Rich Ives Tue Aug 11, 2009 06:13pm

2009 BRD

#3 Page 13

in 2001 FED, NCAA, and PBUC all ruled that you CAN get the advantageous 4th out appeal at first.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 06:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 619997)
2009 BRD

#3 Page 13

in 2001 FED, NCAA, and PBUC all ruled that you CAN get the advantageous 4th out appeal at first.

touche

MrUmpire Tue Aug 11, 2009 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 619997)
2009 BRD

#3 Page 13

in 2001 FED, NCAA, and PBUC all ruled that you CAN get the advantageous 4th out appeal at first.

#1. 2001, right?

#2. On what, a missed base, failure to tag up, failure to REACH a base?

Rich Ives Tue Aug 11, 2009 08:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 620008)
#1. 2001, right?

#2. On what, a missed base, failure to tag up, failure to REACH a base?

WHo cares? They all said it's valid.

jicecone Tue Aug 11, 2009 08:23pm

Ok before we get to 5 pages I will succumb to Fivesdada game.

I agree

You out, you out
You mama says you out
You appealed at first and the run don't score
The inning over and der ain't no more
You out, you out.

Next thread please.

MrUmpire Tue Aug 11, 2009 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 620016)
WHo cares? They all said it's valid.

It matters.

mbyron Tue Aug 11, 2009 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 620008)
#1. 2001, right?

#2. On what, a missed base, failure to tag up, failure to REACH a base?

2008 BRD: §3

FED: OFF INTERP 2-3: Hopkins: If the defense gains a third out during play, but the batter-runner has not yet reached first at the time of the out, the defense may play on him at first for an advantageous fourth out. [email to Stevens, 5/11/01] {See 9-1-1 Ex d.}

NCAA: OFF INTERP 3-3: Fetchiet: Same as FED OFF INTERP 2-3. [Website 4/18/01, 8-6a]{See 8-6b-7}

OBR: OFF INTERP 4-3: Fitzpatrick: Same as FED. [email to cc, 1/17/01] {See 7.10}

Play 3-3: R3, R2, 2 outs: B1 singles to the outfield but injures himself coming out of the box; he cannot continue. R3 scores easily, but R2 is thrown out at home: 3 outs. The catcher then fires to F3, who tags first in advance of B1. Ruling: The "appeal" at first results in an advantageous fourth out that cancels R3's run.

MrUmpire Tue Aug 11, 2009 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 620025)
2008 BRD: §3

FED: OFF INTERP 2-3: Hopkins: If the defense gains a third out during play, but the batter-runner has not yet reached first at the time of the out, the defense may play on him at first for an advantageous fourth out. [email to Stevens, 5/11/01] {See 9-1-1 Ex d.}

NCAA: OFF INTERP 3-3: Fetchiet: Same as FED OFF INTERP 2-3. [Website 4/18/01, 8-6a]{See 8-6b-7}

OBR: OFF INTERP 4-3: Fitzpatrick: Same as FED. [email to cc, 1/17/01] {See 7.10}

Play 3-3: R3, R2, 2 outs: B1 singles to the outfield but injures himself coming out of the box; he cannot continue. R3 scores easily, but R2 is thrown out at home: 3 outs. The catcher then fires to F3, who tags first in advance of B1. Ruling: The "appeal" at first results in an advantageous fourth out that cancels R3's run.

2001? I guess interps are stagnant, eh?

Apparently some major league umpires haven't read, or don't care what the BRD has to say.

UmpTTS43 Tue Aug 11, 2009 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 619997)
2009 BRD

#3 Page 13

in 2001 FED, NCAA, and PBUC all ruled that you CAN get the advantageous 4th out appeal at first.

I know we have bantered about this before on another forum. I did not know that Fitzpatrick ruled that way. This is not the only interp from Fitz that has raised eyebrows. If it is the official interp, I wonder why it would not be in any other publications such as the MLBUM? This ruling is in stark contrast to other rules that define what is acceptable by appeal and the very definition of an appeal.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 11, 2009 09:33pm

I read through MLBUM and couldn't find a scenario like this in there...do you have a page number? I typed what I found regarding appeal principles and that was all I really was able to find.

umpjim Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:45pm

Wendlestedt and the MLB pros have not given me much to work on with the nuances of the game when strange sits have come up. From replays, to fouls, to balks for appealing from the rubber, to D3Ks, to time plays. Me and my friends have brain farted all of those situations at one time or another. But I think the MLB guys are mechanics orientated and have to get the balls, strikes and outs right. They could care less about the 3rd world stuff because it doesn't happen in the pros, except when it does. So, for us mortals, I gotta reread the BRD again and go with it.

Rich Ives Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 620023)
It matters.

Why? The persons empowered to make rules ruled. If you're doing one of their games it's official.

Rich Ives Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 620030)
2001? I guess interps are stagnant, eh?

.

Why? Do rules have to be re-done every year?

They're in effect until changed - and these haven't.

MrUmpire Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 620056)
Why? Do rules have to be re-done every year?

I believe you quoted interpretations of rules, not rules.


Quote:

They're in effect until changed - and these haven't.
They are in effect until interpreted otherwise. And according to some ML umpires, this has been done.

MrUmpire Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 620055)
Why? The persons empowered to make rules ruled. If you're doing one of their games it's official.

Sorry, those quotes are not from persons "empowered to make rules."

In two cases they are interps from people no longer making interps. And none are from people who provide interps for MLB.

mbyron Wed Aug 12, 2009 06:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 620059)
Sorry, those quotes are not from persons "empowered to make rules."

In two cases they are interps from people no longer making interps. And none are from people who provide interps for MLB.

True. Do you have something written from MLB that contradicts these interps? Until we have that, I don't see much choice other than to go with what we have, individual MLB umpires' opinions to the contrary notwithstanding.

UmpTTS43 Wed Aug 12, 2009 08:35am

FWIW, Wendelstedt does not recognize this appeal. It is in his 2008 Rules and Mechanics manual.

Since I am of the hard headed sort, I am not going to allow this appeal for any OBR game since I have something in writing from 2008. As far as NCAA, I am going to have to check around.

Rich Ives Wed Aug 12, 2009 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 620059)
Sorry, those quotes are not from persons "empowered to make rules."

In two cases they are interps from people no longer making interps. And none are from people who provide interps for MLB.

They aren't? They were empowered to make interpretations. Isn't that close enough?

Do rules/laws expire when the persons passing them leave office? Not where I live.

I never said they covered MLB - I said FED, NCAA, and PBUC.

So you don't like the rulings. Evans doesn't like the MLB ruling that you can overrun first on a walk. People have differing opinions on how things should be interpreted. That doesn't mean one can ignore the official ones in the applicable venues.

aceholleran Wed Aug 12, 2009 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 619984)
Five pages, I predict. Maybe six.

Too funny, KF.

BTW gang, I had a walk-off walk this year and B1 "almost" went into the dugout. You had to see F2 chase him to first trying to tag him, which he did, with no call from me.

Losing coach: (Who, considering all factors, was quite reasonable) "My player tagged the kid."
Me: "Well, he touched the batter-runner with the ball, It wasn't a tag."
Coach: "What?"
Me: "You may tag someone only if he is in peril of being thrown out. You can't tag a runner on his way to first after a walk."
Coach: "Then the batter was out of the baseline."
Me: "A tag play must be in progress to call a runner out of the baseline."
Coach: "Right. My kid tagged him."

.. and so on.

Logic that would give Thomas Aquinas a stiff neck.

Ace in CT

johnnyg08 Wed Aug 12, 2009 09:00am

Interesting that Wendelstedt teaches one thing in their book, then when their honor grads go to PBUC, they have to learn something different.

Rich Ives Wed Aug 12, 2009 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 620101)
Interesting that Wendelstedt teaches one thing in their book, then when their honor grads go to PBUC, they have to learn something different.

Rumor has it that Evans still teaches that you can't overrun first on a walk.

johnnyg08 Wed Aug 12, 2009 09:26am

I guess I don't understand why at "pro school" where they train all umpires who are in the pro system, stuff that won't apply to them when the move on to the next level.

Is Wendel or Evans teaching more concept in those principles and that's why they teach it that way?

nopachunts Wed Aug 12, 2009 09:42am

Gameplay situation I need a ruling on
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 619984)
Five pages, I predict. Maybe six.

Almost there

UmpTTS43 Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:02am

At least there has been some rules disussions/interpretations vs. the opinions of whether a certain MLB umpire is any good. :rolleyes:

Rcichon Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:17am

hmmm...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by aceholleran (Post 620100)
Too funny, KF.

BTW gang, I had a walk-off walk this year and B1 "almost" went into the dugout. You had to see F2 chase him to first trying to tag him, which he did, with no call from me.

Losing coach: (Who, considering all factors, was quite reasonable) "My player tagged the kid."
Me: "Well, he touched the batter-runner with the ball, It wasn't a tag."
Coach: "What?"
Me: "You may tag someone only if he is in peril of being thrown out. You can't tag a runner on his way to first after a walk."
Coach: "Then the batter was out of the baseline."
Me: "A tag play must be in progress to call a runner out of the baseline."
Coach: "Right. My kid tagged him."

.. and so on.

Logic that would give Thomas Aquinas a stiff neck.

Ace in CT

I wonder if this could be interp'd as a 'fake tag'.

I'm sure someone will say, "Don't pick that booger"!
:D

bob jenkins Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nopachunts (Post 620115)
Almost there

Depends on how many posts you have per page (in your personal settings). We're only on page 2 for me.

Ump Rube Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 620135)
Depends on how many posts you have per page (in your personal settings). We're only on page 2 for me.

One of the smallest changes that makes a big difference in view-ability on this site.

"We salute you Mr. Customizable Posts-Per-Page Guy!"

SAump Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:47pm

Customs and Traditions
 
With two outs, you have to find a ruling you like. I tend to enforce the same ruling when there are NO outs, one out or two outs.

Case: 2 outs, R3, R2, ground ball to OF fired home. R3 scores easily and R2 is thrown out at the plate. The B/R returns to the plate to pick up the bat and instruct R2 to slide. The pitcher sees the B/R's action and tells the catcher to fire the ball to 1B for an out. Does it count as an advantageous 4th out and take away the run scored by R3? I say it does and if you don't want to agree with SAump, fine.

Would your ruling change with 1 out?

Case: 1 out, R3, R2, ground ball to OF fired home. R3 scores easily and R2 is thrown out at the plate. The B/R returns to the plate to pick up the bat and instruct R2 to slide. The pitcher sees the B/R's action and tells the catcher to fire the ball to 1B for an out. Does it count as the 3rd out and take away the run scored by R3? I say it does and if you don't want to agree with SAump, fine.

Would your ruling change with 0 out?

Case: 0 out, R3, R2, ground ball to OF fired home. R3 scores easily and R2 is thrown out at the plate. The B/R returns to the plate to pick up the bat and instruct R2 to slide. The pitcher sees the B/R's action and tells the catcher to fire the ball to 1B for an out. 2 outs?

I have not seen a ruling which states the B/R has no obligation to continue running to 1B when the 3rd out has been made on another runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1