![]() |
Quote:
Should read as blatantly and avoidably hinders a fielder's try to field a [fair or catchable batted ball or ] thrown ball. Or, if you prefer: blatantly and avoidably hinders a fielder's try to field a fair or catchable batted ball OR blatantly and avoidably hinders a fielder's try to field a thrown ball. |
Quote:
I haven't personally insulted you so you need to just take a breath and read the post. I am not attacking you. I don't ask questions to trap you, I have better things to worry about then entrapping you into a frivolous argument. If you have the time, feel free to let me know if I have all the facts in my summary of the play ;) -Josh |
Quote:
Here is a summary of the play, transcribed by our own Mr. Umpire on another forum: "R1, R2, no outs. Batter hits ball to RF for a hit. R2 scores easily. By the time F9 is getting the ball in, R1 is rounding 3B. F3 gets the throw and turns and throws to F2. F3's throw is off line and is about 12 to 15 feet towards the 1B dugout side of HP. During all of this, the on deck batter has come to pick the bat up. He has the bat in hand when the off line throw hits it and goes out of play. There was no intent by the on deck batter to hit the ball or even get in the way." This is a fair and accurate description of the OP from the deleted thread, which was originally posted by Tim C (and deleted by Tim C. :)) |
Quote:
Sincerely, Mrumpire |
Quote:
-Josh |
Quote:
|
Quote:
So, I use your alias on other forums so they think it is you and come yelling at you. :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Small Technicality
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
JEA - if an overthrow should touch a coach, the umpire should determine if the coach used his best efforts to avoid the overthrow and/or fielder or whether his actions were palpably designed to interfere. |
jiving fastball?
Quote:
Quote:
Instead of satirical quips, change fielder to monkeys, it doesn't affect your outcome anymore than the OP. PITA! :D (1) blatantly and avoidably hinders [ a monkey's try to field a fair or catchable batted ball or ] thrown ball. A coach must try to avoid a monkey trying to field. If he tries to avoid, but contacts a monkey, it is not interference. In most cases, a coach who does not try to avoid contact with a monkey will have interfered. [5.08] [7.11] It is physically impossible to interfere with a fair batted ball in the OP, not a thrown one. If a runner unintentionally interfered with a fair batted ball, is he protected because it is impossible for him to accidentally interfere with a throw? |
Check Mate (Aussie for Friend)
Quote:
Roder's suggestion, treated as offensive teammate. Quote:
|
I wonder, will this answer end the debate. It is the same ruling as others have given. No INT on the ODH by rule 7.11.
Quote:
|
Wow, The Deep End of the Stick
Quote:
BTW, R1 rounds 3B when RF has ball. WTF, in our play contact with ball at HP occurred when R3 touched 3B, clearly not past 45 ft mark, clearly hasn't scored at TOI. Ball went out of play as a result of contact. Award 2 bases, R1 home and B/R 3B! I'll go my way. Interference, dead ball at TOI and place R1 at 3B and B/R at 2B because I could not determine safe/out on play at the plate. See Roder, Pg 115-116. "Interference by an Offensive Teammate" Read VI, VI(b), VI(1), VI(2), Penalty (a), Note ruling for interference without a play, and Ex 1. |
Quote:
Definite troll. :cool: Hopefully others will actually read the answer and learn the right way to call the play. Good luck with your Calvinball. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58am. |