The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Batter switching boxes during same AB (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/54012-batter-switching-boxes-during-same-ab.html)

eagle_12 Sat Jul 18, 2009 11:53pm

Batter switching boxes during same AB
 
OBR

Batter has a 1-2 count on him while batting Righty. After a pitch, foul ball, whatever... switches to lefty.

Is he allowed to do this?

I know that he can not switch boxes while the pitcher is ready to pitch (assuming to mean, on the rubber from the wind-up, and after hes completed his set position) and if the pitcher is ambidextrious (?) he has to delcare before the AB starts.


Little help here as it happened in a game before mine last night.

Thanks

Steven Tyler Sun Jul 19, 2009 01:12am

Yes, it is legal.

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jul 19, 2009 01:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eagle_12 (Post 615478)
OBR

Batter has a 1-2 count on him while batting Righty. After a pitch, foul ball, whatever... switches to lefty.

Is he allowed to do this?

I know that he can not switch boxes while the pitcher is ready to pitch (assuming to mean, on the rubber from the wind-up, and after hes completed his set position) and if the pitcher is ambidextrious (?) he has to delcare before the AB starts.


Little help here as it happened in a game before mine last night.

Thanks

He can switch back and forth after every pitch if he wants to, just as long as the pitcher is not ready to pitch. "Ready to pitch" doesn't mean after he has come set, it means once he is in position and ready to pitch. These criteria have to be met to be "in position": The ball is alive, the pitcher is on the rubber and the catcher is in position. After that, the batter can't switch boxes.

6.06(b) The batter is out for illegal action when he steps from one batter’s box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch.

Also, it's not the batter who has to declare how he will bat with an ambidextrious pitcher, it's the pitcher who must declare which arm he will throw with.

TussAgee11 Sun Jul 19, 2009 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eagle_12 (Post 615478)
OBR

Batter has a 1-2 count on him while batting Righty. After a pitch, foul ball, whatever... switches to lefty.

Is he allowed to do this?

I know that he can not switch boxes while the pitcher is ready to pitch (assuming to mean, on the rubber from the wind-up, and after hes completed his set position) and if the pitcher is ambidextrious (?) he has to delcare before the AB starts.


Little help here as it happened in a game before mine last night.

Thanks

I may be wrong on this, I know this happened in a AAA game last year. I can remember what ended up happening, but can't quite remember the interp that got it to that point.

If F1 is ambidextrous, the batter does not have to declare before the AB starts. He can still switch every pitch I believe. Each player is allowed one "switch" before each pitch. So batter steps up to the left side of the plate. Pitcher then puts glove on his right hand, and we are locked in. Batter can then switch to right side if he wishes, F1 can switch to righty, and now we are locked in. But I believe it is just for that pitch, this is the part I can't quite recall.

I know I recall the batter was the one that lost out (he was also ejected...)

Rich Ives Sun Jul 19, 2009 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TussAgee11 (Post 615563)
I may be wrong on this, I know this happened in a AAA game last year. I can remember what ended up happening, but can't quite remember the interp that got it to that point.

If F1 is ambidextrous, the batter does not have to declare before the AB starts. He can still switch every pitch I believe. Each player is allowed one "switch" before each pitch. So batter steps up to the left side of the plate. Pitcher then puts glove on his right hand, and we are locked in. Batter can then switch to right side if he wishes, F1 can switch to righty, and now we are locked in. But I believe it is just for that pitch, this is the part I can't quite recall.

I know I recall the batter was the one that lost out (he was also ejected...)

Short Season A. Staten Island Yankees. NY-Penn League.

A rule to cover it was written for this year and added to the rule book. 8.01(f). Pitcher declares first - can't switch until the batter is retired, becomes a runner, or is substituted for.

Kevin Finnerty Sun Jul 19, 2009 08:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TussAgee11 (Post 615563)
I may be wrong on this, I know this happened in a AAA game last year. I can remember what ended up happening, but can't quite remember the interp that got it to that point.

If F1 is ambidextrous, the batter does not have to declare before the AB starts. He can still switch every pitch I believe. Each player is allowed one "switch" before each pitch. So batter steps up to the left side of the plate. Pitcher then puts glove on his right hand, and we are locked in. Batter can then switch to right side if he wishes, F1 can switch to righty, and now we are locked in. But I believe it is just for that pitch, this is the part I can't quite recall.

I know I recall the batter was the one that lost out (he was also ejected...)

I always HATE it whenever I have an ambidextrous guy throwing to a switch-hitter. Nothing but problems.

Brett Sun Jul 19, 2009 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 615567)
I always HATE it whenever I have an ambidextrous guy throwing to a switch-hitter. Nothing but problems.

You too?

:D

Kevin Finnerty Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:06pm

I HATE that.

... Hate it.

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 615567)
I always HATE it whenever I have an ambidextrous guy throwing to a switch-hitter. Nothing but problems.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brett (Post 615572)
You too?

:D

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 615573)
I HATE that.

... Hate it.

And it happens so darn frequently, too!

TussAgee11 Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 615566)
Short Season A. Staten Island Yankees. NY-Penn League.

A rule to cover it was written for this year and added to the rule book. 8.01(f). Pitcher declares first - can't switch until the batter is retired, becomes a runner, or is substituted for.

Thanks Rich - apologies from me for the confusion. long term memory loss I guess...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1