The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jun 25, 2009, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member

[QUOTE=PeteBooth;610811]
Quote:

Yes but being an independent contractor I also can write off expenses which i could not do if I were an employee.

Pete Booth
Pete, not totally correct. You can write off anything required for your job & not paid by the employer. The small number of exceptions is more than offset by not having to paying matching social security taxes.
Old Thu Jun 25, 2009, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member

Well,

In Oregon officials are already excused from workmans comp through legislative action.

In Oregon schools send a check to each association to cover all games for the season. This includes mileage. The local associations then cut checks under various schedules to their umpires for games worked.

So you have a game fee + milage - an assignment fee for a net check value.

Summer/Fall Ball while not officially part of the high school association are still paid in the same manner. Teams send a season check and the treasurer then writes checks to umpires.

Hope this fills in some of the blanks.

Regards,
Old Thu Jun 25, 2009, 03:56pm
Get away from me, Steve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C View Post
In Oregon officials are already excused from workmans comp through legislative action.

In Oregon schools send a check to each association to cover all games for the season. This includes mileage. The local associations then cut checks under various schedules to their umpires for games worked.

So you have a game fee + milage - an assignment fee for a net check value.

Summer/Fall Ball while not officially part of the high school association are still paid in the same manner. Teams send a season check and the treasurer then writes checks to umpires.

Hope this fills in some of the blanks.

Regards,