The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Pickoff from the stretch position (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53497-pickoff-stretch-position.html)

Ump153 Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nigel Tufnel (Post 606934)
Hmm...so he can't balk??? or call time???

Don't you hate it when people just pick apart a logical response...me too..:D

We're speaking legal actions according to the rules here, genius. 8.01 (b) Trying reading it.

But since you enjoy playing the fool, F1 can breathe, day dream and scratch his a$$ if he'd like.

mbyron Sat Jun 06, 2009 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump153 (Post 606947)
Next time you attend an Evans clinic and when he recites the three actions I listed, be sure to stand up right away and say "You forgot feint!"

Funny, last one I went to, he remembered to say it. You're the one who forgot. :rolleyes:

Ump153 Sat Jun 06, 2009 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 606962)
Funny, last one I went to, he remembered to say it. You're the one who forgot. :rolleyes:


After speaking with a couple of his instructors, the most polite thing I can say is your memory is incorrect. :rolleyes:


Whatever gets you through the night, "perfesser."

mbyron Sat Jun 06, 2009 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump153 (Post 606982)
After speaking with a couple of his instructors, the most polite thing I can say is your memory is incorrect. :rolleyes:


Whatever gets you through the night, "perfesser."

Like your other posts in this thread, you are again incorrect, as my memory is correct and confirmed by my notes.

Your personal comments about me do not support your case. But thanks for playing. Better luck in the next thread.

Ump153 Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 606994)
Like your other posts in this thread, you are again incorrect, as my memory is correct and confirmed by my notes.

Your personal comments about me do not support your case. But thanks for playing. Better luck in the next thread.

Isn't that cute. You have notes that agree with your position.

I had a perfesser like you at UW. He couldn't stand to be wrong either. He dodged, weaved and made accusations just like you.

I'll see your notes, raise you two fourth year insturctors and throw in my notes from school: (which, not coincidentally, are remarkably similar to 8.01 (b)

The Set Position. Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his entire pivot foot on, or in front of, and in contact with, and not off the end of the pitcher’s plate, and his other foot in front of the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop. From such Set Position he may deliver the ball to the batter, throw to a base or step backward off the pitcher’s plate with his pivot foot.

Now then, as I've indicated before, this is the common, universal description of what F1 may do legally. It is not an exhaustive list by any means. But including the action of a "feint" to the list makes it far less accurate, unless one includes to where a legal feint may be made.

Have good evening perfesser. I see nothing to be gained by continuing a conversation with someone who just cannot admit to reality.

Good luck re-writing the JEA. Just refer to your notes.:D

MrUmpire Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:18pm

Okay, I'm disappointed in the two you.

What I've read so far:

A poster wrote that a pitcher, from the set, can pitch, step off, throw to a base or feint.

Ump 153 posted what appears in the rule book, that being pitch, step off or throw to a base.

mbyron posted that the pitcher can also feint.

Ump 153 replied. basically, that feint is not included in the "common" phrase as it is not a universal rule.

Now it gets a bit pissy:

mbyron, while agreeing the post was meant universally, defended including "feint" never the less, with a slight jab at Ump 153.

Not to be outdone, Ump 153 jabbed back. with an elbow.

mbyron bobbed and threw a right cross.

Ump 153 ducked and went for an uppercut.

mbyron tried the old I'm right and I can prove it, just ask me.

Ump 153 responded with oh, yeah, you call that right?

No punches landed, no points scored, no blood let.



Okay, you guys. You both have a history of being better than this.

Ump 153: You are right, if you condition your statement with "as it appears in the rule book....etc.

mbyron: You are right, if you condition your statement with "in addition to what appears in 8.01, a pitcher may...etc.

Now, go in peace.

SanDiegoSteve Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:22pm

*Above post nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize*


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1