The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   tag pushes foot off of the bag (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53465-tag-pushes-foot-off-bag.html)

mbyron Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPaco54 (Post 606427)
What is the ruling if the defense does pushes or pulls the runner off the base?

"No! He's safe! (signal safe) And you (point to fielder), knock it off!"

johnnyg08 Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:00pm

probably follow it up with a "Time" right after your "safe" call/signal.

mbyron Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 606466)
probably follow it up with a "Time" right after your "safe" call/signal.

No, why? He'll be back on the base in 1 second. Do you call time to allow a runner who has legally overrun 1B to get back on the base?

I don't call time unless I absolutely have to.

johnnyg08 Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:31pm

No I don't. If a player blows out his knee do you let him roll off of the base and get tagged out? Depends on the play...sometimes it's necessary to stop the play. The OP, might be an example of that esp if horseplay is involved.

I didn't say you were wrong.

mbyron Thu Jun 04, 2009 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 606483)
If a player blows out his knee do you let him roll off of the base and get tagged out?

Yes, unless the injury was caused by the defense. That's baseball.

Ump153 Thu Jun 04, 2009 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 606483)
No I don't. If a player blows out his knee do you let him roll off of the base and get tagged out?

Of course.

RogersUmp Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:58pm

I had a F3 dislocate his shoulder and didn't call time until defense had control of the ball and the play ended.

steveshane67 Thu Jun 04, 2009 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ggk (Post 606168)
BRD 425 nails it - the mlb interp states that "if a runner going into a base does not have body control, he is out when a hard tag knocks him off the base. BRD also references the history of the ruling and the gant/hrbek play.


in the sit with rollins the runner slid awkwardly and did not have body control. great call

As an INF I was always taught that when you apply the tag, you hold it on on the runners lower leg and give them a little nudge just in case they cant stay on the bag. I didnt see the rollins play, but it sounds like a good fundamental play, no different than a hard slide to break up a DP.

just my .02


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1