The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2009, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
At least around here, it seems to be a personal choice for a PU to appeal to the BU on an attempted check swing that the PU concludes he did swing. Others around here will pregame that "if I come to you on a check swing, agree with what I called". I, personally, don't have a problem going to the BU if I'm in doubt. If they say something that I didn't, I want them to make the correct call (not the call that is going to save my butt).
Whaaaaaa? Say it with me, now:

"Check swing strikes are not appeal-able."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2009, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 152
Had this scenario happen to me in the playoffs this year, albeit on a bunt. OC wanted me to appeal, I informed him there was no appeal on a strike called due to an attempt. End of discussion, and we moved on...
__________________
Never argue with idiots...they drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2009, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarolinablue View Post
Had this scenario happen to me in the playoffs this year, albeit on a bunt. OC wanted me to appeal, I informed him there was no appeal on a strike called due to an attempt. End of discussion, and we moved on...
There is no appeal on a strike called, period.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2009, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 476
There's also the story Ron Luciano told in one of his books. Working with Emmett Ashford at first, Ron called a swinging strike on a check-swing. When the offensive manager told him to get help, Ron did, and Emmett affirmed the call. Luciano's response to the manager? "There- now you've got it in black and white."

I know how most here feel about Luciano, but that was his take on the sitch.
__________________
Throwing people out of a game is like riding a bike- once you get the hang of it, it can be a lot of fun.- Ron Luciano
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2009, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SW Kansas
Posts: 728
If it's ruled a strike, it's a swing, not a check-swing. Can't appeal what it isn't.

Or something.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1