The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigda65 View Post
Kevin,

Did the OM question his call? What did he ask and what was your partners reply?
He questioned it for a few minutes, and then the defensive coach wanted an automatic double play.

The OM asked why it was interference if he didn't even touch the ball or the fielder. My partner answered that he denied the fielder an opportunity to see the ball sooner and make the play. He called it, but the shortstop continued and made the play. He took good command of the call and the description. Good command for a kid, that is.

The defensive coach wound up being more of a pain in the a$$ about the automatic double play (no chance in hell of two on this play).
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I guess I was referring to a play where F2 would throw to F3 and we have runner lane INT...if F3 successfully fields the ball and we have B/R out at 1B...there was INT, but he made the play...so you call the INT and return runners on that type of play?
Please describe a specific play where that happens -- I'm having trouble envisioning the BR hindering F3, but F3 "successfully fields the ball" (by which I assume you mean catches the throw).
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 01:11pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Yes. Doesn't the provision for runner's lane interference deal with F3's ability to field the throw?

Example: Bunt down 1BL, F2 fields, throws, B/R is inside the runner's lane about 20 ft from 1B, F2 successfully threads the needle by throwing the ball over B/R's left shoulder and F3 catches the ball for a 2-3 putout.

If the ball goes off of B/R's helmet and out into RF...you have running lane INT right?

So...I'm asking the other poster if he would call it before he saw the result of the attempted play?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SW Kansas
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigda65 View Post

But blue he fielded it cleanly and then threw to first how was he hindered??
If the fielder had to pull up instead of charging a ground ball (which any coach with 1/3 of a brain should be teaching his kids to do) to avoid a runner intentionally hovering in front of a grounder, it doesn't matter how cleanly the ball was fielded.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1