The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Teammates’ handslap to home run hitter erases victory (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53082-teammates-handslap-home-run-hitter-erases-victory.html)

mbyron Thu May 07, 2009 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 600262)

Ha! Touché.

johnnyg08 Thu May 07, 2009 10:17am

fellas, i've been looking in the fed rule books and I'm not finding a warning or an out anywhere if this would happened on a fed baseball field.

heck, there's even a case play where b/r falls rounding 3B and the coach helps him up and that's legal. do we have a rule or case play that supports an out anywhere? If so, I couldn't find one for an over-the-fence-homerun

jdmara Thu May 07, 2009 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 600316)
fellas, i've been looking in the fed rule books and I'm not finding a warning or an out anywhere if this would happened on a fed baseball field.

heck, there's even a case play where b/r falls rounding 3B and the coach helps him up and that's legal. do we have a rule or case play that supports an out anywhere? If so, I couldn't find one for an over-the-fence-homerun

In Fed if the ball is dead, the OP is not illegal. See 3.2.2A.

Although 3.2.2B confuses me and seems to not be consistent with 3-2-2. 3-2-2 says the penalty for a coach assisting a runner: "PENALTY: The ball is dead at the end of playing action. The involved batterrunner or runner is out and any additional outs made on the play stand. Runners not put out return to bases occupied at the time of the infraction."

Simple enough but 3.2.2B seems to contradict that:

Quote:

3.2.2 SITUATION B: With R1 on third base and one out, B3 hits a fly ball that (a) F8 is about to catch, (b) is going over the fence for a home run or (c) bounces off the fence into play, as R1’s coach at third physically assists R1 at third base.

RULING: R1 is called out immediately because of his coach’s interference. In (a), (b) and (c), the ball remains alive to allow a fielder the opportunity to make a catch. Once the ball goes over the fence as in (b), the ball becomes dead immediately. In (c), the ball becomes dead at the end of playing action. In (a), the catch would be the third out and the ball is dead. In (b), R1’s out is the second out. Therefore, B3’s home run counts. Had there been two outs when B3 hit the ball, B3’s home run would not have counted, because R1’s out was the third out. In (c), anytime the ball is not caught in flight, the batter is awarded first base, unless he was put out.
Called out immediately to me means that you kill the play and it's not a delayed dead ball....I've only had this happen once and I made it a delayed dead ball.

-Josh

johnnyg08 Thu May 07, 2009 10:50am

reading some of these things starts to make my head hurt. sometimes it's easier to see the play

dash_riprock Thu May 07, 2009 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 600323)
In Fed if the ball is dead, the OP is not illegal. See 3.2.2A.

Although 3.2.2B confuses me and seems to not be consistent with 3-2-2. 3-2-2 says the penalty for a coach assisting a runner: "PENALTY: The ball is dead at the end of playing action. The involved batterrunner or runner is out and any additional outs made on the play stand. Runners not put out return to bases occupied at the time of the infraction."

Simple enough but 3.2.2B seems to contradict that:



Called out immediately to me means that you kill the play and it's not a delayed dead ball....I've only had this happen once and I made it a delayed dead ball.

-Josh

Called out immediately means just that, nothing more. Similar to a runner passing a preceding runner. Play on.

BretMan Thu May 07, 2009 11:27am

This an NCAA softball rule and is something completely different than the standard rules covering interference for assisting a runner during a live ball.

The rule is that on a DEAD BALL BASE AWARD, no one other than a coach or another runner may touch any of the advancing runners until said runners have touched home plate.

Isn't the same rule in effect for NCAA baseball? It is, according to my 2008 edition of the Baseball Rules Differences. I'm surprised that somebody didn't catch that!

The umpires blew this call. The first violation of this rule requires only a team warning. No provision is made to call an out unless it is a subsequent offense.

In one news account, coach Musgjerd is quoted as saying, "The warning is down much farther (in the rule book) and I wasn't aware of the warning until much later".

Baloney. The "effect" and penalty appear directly below and as part of the rule in the NCAA softball rule book. Way to try and save face while admitting that you had no idea of the actual rule and lucked into a call by *****ing about it!

The umpires blew the rule, the coach that complained didn't know it and the coach of the other team apparently does not know it or understand how to file a protest.

Durham Thu May 07, 2009 11:55am

You thought that the coaches knew the rules?

The umpires and tourney director screwed up, seems rather simple to me. They all got talked into a call and it is a good lesson for us all. Know the rules, and don't let a coach whose job is to work you for calls, put doubt in your mind if you know you are right.

tcarilli Thu May 07, 2009 05:07pm

Not Quite
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 600332)
Isn't the same rule in effect for NCAA baseball?

no

Rule 5
Positions of the Offensive Team
SECTION 2. The offensive team shall:
d. After a home run, no offensive team member, other than the base
coaches, shall touch the batter-runner before home plate has been
touched. Team personnel, except for preceding base runners, shall not
enter the dirt area at home plate to congratulate the batter-runner.
PENALTY for c. and d.—After a warning for the first offense, ejection
from the contest of one of the offending players.

The penalty is ejection of the toucher. The intent of the rule in baseball is to prevent the players from the dugout from encircling the catcher and creating a situation that may end up volatile.

That's probably why nobody caught it.

Kevin Finnerty Thu May 07, 2009 05:15pm

I can't believe the censor is allowing this off-topic discussion and everything related to it to remain on this thread.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1