The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Errant Throw (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53043-errant-throw.html)

DG Fri May 01, 2009 08:28am

Errant Throw
 
Fed situation, Runner on 1st and 2nd. F3 playing behind runner. F1 steps toward 1b at same time as F3 starts move toward 1B, timing play perhaps. F1throws the ball into the ground about 20 feet from the mound, it rolls towards F3's original position and comes to a stop in the infield grass. F3 runs over and picks it up. Runner on 2B advances to 3rd. Runner on 1B does not advance.

J/R says "an intended pickoff throw (in contact) to first base that slips is a balk if it does not reach the foul line or a fielder within reach of a tag attempt at the base. I see nothing in FED on this. 10-2-3g situation perhaps. Does an unofficial OBR interp have a bearing when there is no FED interp for a 10-2-3g situation.

johnnyg08 Fri May 01, 2009 08:34am

If it were my play, if there's no FED interp, it's nothing. If you use the OBR interp, in a sense, you're making up rules. I would let it be. If he made a move to 1B, didn't throw it, then realized "oh crud, I have to throw it or it's a balk", then balk it...that's a HTBT though.

umpjong Fri May 01, 2009 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 599157)
Fed situation, Runner on 1st and 2nd. F3 playing behind runner. F1 steps toward 1b at same time as F3 starts move toward 1B, timing play perhaps. F1throws the ball into the ground about 20 feet from the mound, it rolls towards F3's original position and comes to a stop in the infield grass. F3 runs over and picks it up. Runner on 2B advances to 3rd. Runner on 1B does not advance.

Balk this... Pitcher must step and throw to the base. The rule clearly states that the throw must be an attempt to put out the runner. A ball that doesnt get there is not an attempt to put out the runner..

Also using other logic (of not balking it), if the pitcher "slipped" on this play and simply tossed the ball in the air and then he re caught it, using the same logic you would have no balk here either. I think not. This play is clearly a "BALK".

johnnyg08 Fri May 01, 2009 09:12am

very solid points. maybe this is a better way to handle it?

mbyron Fri May 01, 2009 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 599166)
Balk this... Pitcher must step and throw to the base.

I agree. And the explanation is under my 5 word maximum: "Didn't throw to the base."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1