![]() |
NYYvs Red Sox April 25th
This is actual Play by Play. One out Did anyone see this?
Posada walked on a full count. Hideki Matsui - H.Matsui doubled to center, Posada to third. Melky Cabrera - Me.Cabrera grounded into fielder's choice, pitcher R.Ramirez to catcher Varitek, H.Matsui to third, Me.Cabrera to second, Posada out. Catcher Varitek chases Posada back to third and tags both Matsui, who is also on the bag , first . Then tags Posada. Posada is called out. Am I missing something here. OBR 7.03 "Two runners may not occupy a base, but if while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged. The preceeding runner is entitled to the base." |
Quote:
IF he was then Matsui should have been out. It's possible that they missed it -- it certainly doesn't happen often, and I know a D-1 umpire who missed it last year. |
I had this happen last night. We had R1 and R2, less than two outs. We had a ball hit to deep right center. The R2 stayed close to second, R1 went to second, and the B/R ran up on R1 at second. R2 ended up taking off for home when the ball got down. The B/R and R1 were both standing on second base so the defense tagged the B/R out (He was the following runner). They then threw out R2 at home for the double play.
|
I was thinking the same thing...I didn't look like Posada was on the base yet so he would be out...the rule states that if two runners are occupying the same base...blah, blah, blah...I only saw the play one time, but it looked like they got it right.
|
I thought exactly the same thing, but the replay angle showed that Posada stopped just short of the bag. If Posada had actually made it back to 3B, Matsui could have retreated toward 2B, forcing the play away from the lead runner.
I saw Clete Boyer do that years ago. He and the other runner kept the play going for a long time, though unsuccessfully. |
Posada was not on the base, that explains it. I only saw the replay once and didn't look at where Posada was. Then again, at least the BU did.
It really is so much easier to umpire from the recliner. I have'nt missed a call in years and when I do, the wife still calls me blind. Of course she is a Yankee fan and I like the Sox, so what do you expect. But it's still good practice for the real games. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Then again, R3 & R2 with one out and taking off for the plate on the crack of the bat, wellllll, me no think he was thinking at all. So either he all of a sudden got some thinking power, orrrrrrrrrrr, he is just slow. |
a little harsh...i think we all know it's an umpire forum
|
If Posada was not on the bag and Matsui was, why was Matsui out? They both must have been off the bag, yes?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Who's on first, What's on second, I Don't Know's on third. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24pm. |