The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 29, 2002, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 13
Hi-
Yesterday’s game- Pony 11-12 year-olds. Bunt. Batter-runner runs down the line, right down the center of the foul line, not in the lane. Gets hit with throw from pitcher just before he reaches 1st. I call him out. Question is this: When he gets close to 1st, how much inside fair territory is he allowed to take legally? Does it matter if he is hit just before 1st, or 15 feet closer to home? (Rule book makes no distinction) .Doesn’t he almost have to come inside the foul line to touch 1st/ Isn’t too much to ask that he stay in foul territory and only reach to the left with his left foot to touch the base? The way I read 6.05 (k), that is what he is supposed to do. Thanks. ( I called him out partially because he was never in the lane, and thought that it would be better for him to learn the correct rule, and, there was no doubt that he was unaware of it, or not following it). Thanks-David
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1