![]() |
Looking for clarification
I'm a coach of a 12U rec team playing USSSA rules. Last night our catcher got a little eager to squeeze a pitch and obstructed the batter when the bat made contact with his glove. The pitch was tipped foul. The umpire called catcher's interference (I think he meant obstruction) and awarded the batter first base.
I'm not questioning the call (honestly, my catcher had no business being close enough for the batter to hit). Mine is more a theoretical question. Once the ball is fouled, according to USSSA 8.05.I: The ball is dead and runners advance one (1) base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when: 8.05.I.5 A foul ball is not caught; runners return. Now, is a tip considered a foul ball, or does it depend on if the catcher catches it? If it is a foul ball, would it matter if the obstruction occurred before or after the foul (i.e., is it a timing thing)? 8.07.G.1 says: When obstruction occurs, the umpire shall call or signal "Obstruction": ... if the batter runner is obstructed before he touches first (1st) base, the ball is dead and all runner shall advance at least one (1) base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction. My interpretation of this is that if it occurs before the foul there is no foul since the ball is dead. What about afterward? Is there a priority to which one occurred? Appreciate any clarity you all can provide. |
define foul tip
|
On CI, the offense has the option of taking the play or the penalty (unless the batter and all runners advance -- in that case the CI is ignored entirely).
You have outlined the result of the "play" -- a foul ball. And, it doesn't matter whether the mitt or the ball was struck first (although it's hard to come up with an example where the ball would be hit first). So, the offensive coach can choose (a) a strike on the batter and runners return, or (b) Batter to first, runners return unless forced. Most of the time, option B will be better. |
Rufus,
No, he meant "catcher's interference" - only FED calls it " catcher's obstruction". The proper USSSA rule reference is: Quote:
JM |
Thanks Bob and UmpJM, that helps.
Bob, in answer to your question, I was thinking a foul tip (caught or not caught by the catcher as this wasn't a 3rd strike) and then connecting with the catcher's glove on the swing follow-through. As you and UmpJM state, it doesn't change the call, but that's an example I can come up with (if you think it's a strange one I guess I've seen too many 12U kids screw themselves into the ground on their swings and follow-throughs). |
Rufus, just for future reference, if the catcher doesn't catch the ball that goes directly from the bat to the catcher's mitt, it is not a foul tip, it is a foul ball. Foul tips, by definition, are live balls.
|
Term Clarification
Quote:
I believe the term that you are trying to use is foul tick which refers to a pitched ball that creates the ticking sound but is not caught. This is a foul ball. *Sorry johnnyg08, was posting at the same time. |
no worries gf...your's has the detail that could help clarify the term.
|
Quote:
If it affects the catcher's ability to catch the ball, it's batter's interference in FED, and nothing (dead ball, runners return) in OBR (often called "weak interference). |
johnny and gf
Thanks again for the clarification. I knew a ball that was "tipped" and caught/held for 3rd strike was an out (even had to explain it to my son during a game this year) but knowing the difference between a "tip" and a "tick" now helps round that out. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22am. |