The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Appeal on SF in last of 9th (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/52759-appeal-sf-last-9th.html)

LeeBallanfant Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:41pm

Appeal on SF in last of 9th
 
Watching the DET TOR game tonight where a SF brought in game winning run brought up the following sit.

Bases loaded tie game, last 9th no outs. Batter hits Fly to OF and runner on 3B scores on a close play at HP and entire winning team runs on field congratulating every one. Catcher then goes to 3B and appeals to umpire that runner left too early which is upheld. Is one of the runners on originally on 1B or 2B (now in dugout) automatically called out for leaving baseline or does catcher have to tag them?

Steven Tyler Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 594720)
Watching the DET TOR game tonight where a SF brought in game winning run brought up the following sit.

Bases loaded tie game, last 9th no outs. Batter hits Fly to OF and runner on 3B scores on a close play at HP and entire winning team runs on field congratulating every one. Catcher then goes to 3B and appeals to umpire that runner left too early which is upheld. Is one of the runners on originally on 1B or 2B (now in dugout) automatically called out for leaving baseline or does catcher have to tag them?

What did the MLB umpires do? Did they return both runners if catcher didn't do any of the things that you that you suggested? MLB umpires quest is to get every call right. I say that they more than likely fixed the situation and put runners back on base.

My guess is the catcher wouldn't have to tag anyone. Runners would be called out for leaving the field of play if such a rule exists for a play like the one you described at the supposed end of a ball game.

DG Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 594720)
Watching the DET TOR game tonight where a SF brought in game winning run brought up the following sit.

Bases loaded tie game, last 9th no outs. Batter hits Fly to OF and runner on 3B scores on a close play at HP and entire winning team runs on field congratulating every one. Catcher then goes to 3B and appeals to umpire that runner left too early which is upheld. Is one of the runners on originally on 1B or 2B (now in dugout) automatically called out for leaving baseline or does catcher have to tag them?

If they ran off the field and into the dugout, yes, no tag necessary.

SanDiegoSteve Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:19pm

Is the game still going on? Because that's 3 outs and no run scores.

kylejt Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:31am

This is a WHAT IF?, and not something that actually happened.

And yes, I was scouring ESPN myself, for a while.

jicecone Wed Apr 08, 2009 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 594720)
Watching the DET TOR game tonight where a SF brought in game winning run brought up the following sit.

Bases loaded tie game, last 9th no outs. Batter hits Fly to OF and runner on 3B scores on a close play at HP and entire winning team runs on field congratulating every one. Catcher then goes to 3B and appeals to umpire that runner left too early which is upheld. Is one of the runners on originally on 1B or 2B (now in dugout) automatically called out for leaving baseline or does catcher have to tag them?

No, F2 has to tag the man that was on first OR F4 or F6 have to tag the man that was on second unless they turned out to be women. (Hey what if) you never know in todays world. Unless the game is played in Detriot then the catcher can tag anyone and declare victory for the Tigers, which is just about as rare as a victory for SF. But hey you never know because it could be whatever we want it to be. Ya know like , What if SF actually wins the World Series this year ???????????????????????????????????????????????

Oh sorry, just wondering out loud.

umpjong Wed Apr 08, 2009 09:46am

I'm sure someone will have a pro rule interp book, but I would think that since the game was officially over you could not expect the runners to stay on 1st and 2nd waiting to see if the defense would make an appeal. The appeal (and upholding the appeal) would basically reopen the game and the umpires should simply return the runners to the bases they were on at the time of appeal.

Nothing in the rule book would justify making a runner stay on a base when the game is officially over (by rule the game is officially over when home team scores winning run in bottom of ninth) . Again the proper appeal would simply be a way to reopen the game.

jicecone Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 594770)
I'm sure someone will have a pro rule interp book, but I would think that since the game was officially over you could not expect the runners to stay on 1st and 2nd waiting to see if the defense would make an appeal. The appeal (and upholding the appeal) would basically reopen the game and the umpires should simply return the runners to the bases they were on at the time of appeal.

Nothing in the rule book would justify making a runner stay on a base when the game is officially over (by rule the game is officially over when home team scores winning run in bottom of ninth) . Again the proper appeal would simply be a way to reopen the game.

That would be the apparent winning run you are refering to, because it would not be the official winning run. The game is not officially over just because an apparant winning run has scored.

Rich Ives Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 594720)
Watching the DET TOR game tonight where a SF brought in game winning run brought up the following sit.

Bases loaded tie game, last 9th no outs. Batter hits Fly to OF and runner on 3B scores on a close play at HP and entire winning team runs on field congratulating every one. Catcher then goes to 3B and appeals to umpire that runner left too early which is upheld. Is one of the runners on originally on 1B or 2B (now in dugout) automatically called out for leaving baseline or does catcher have to tag them?

Nonsense.

In a MLB game the catcher would have thrown inmnediately - it's done routinely at that level.


No way in hades the other runners would have made it to the dugout.

jdmara Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 594770)
I'm sure someone will have a pro rule interp book, but I would think that since the game was officially over you could not expect the runners to stay on 1st and 2nd waiting to see if the defense would make an appeal. The appeal (and upholding the appeal) would basically reopen the game and the umpires should simply return the runners to the bases they were on at the time of appeal.

Nothing in the rule book would justify making a runner stay on a base when the game is officially over (by rule the game is officially over when home team scores winning run in bottom of ninth) . Again the proper appeal would simply be a way to reopen the game.

Don't you mean the game is officially over when the home team LEGALLY scores the winning run in the bottom of the ninth? In this case, the run would become legal when the umpires left the field of play (I believe it's the same as in FEDs but not 100%) and there was not a proper appeal prior to their departure.

Now what to do with the runners...I believe they are obligated to stay on their respective bases until playing action has concluded.

-Josh

umpjong Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 594783)
Don't you mean the game is officially over when the home team LEGALLY scores the winning run in the bottom of the ninth? In this case, the run would become legal when the umpires left the field of play (I believe it's the same as in FEDs but not 100%) and there was not a proper appeal prior to their departure.

Now what to do with the runners...I believe they are obligated to stay on their respective bases until playing action has concluded.

-Josh

Nope OBR 4-11c

(c) If the home team scores the winning run in its half of the ninth inning (or its half of an extra inning after a tie), the game ends immediately when the winning run is scored.


The run scores until it is erased by the appeal...(this last line is my statement)

jdmara Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 594814)
Nope OBR 4-11c

(c) If the home team scores the winning run in its half of the ninth inning (or its half of an extra inning after a tie), the game ends immediately when the winning run is scored.


The run scores until it is erased by the appeal...(this last line is my statement)

I stand corrected. I don't have my books with me, true in FED as well?

-Josh

yawetag Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 594823)
I stand corrected. I don't have my books with me, true in FED as well?

-Josh

Maybe I'm different, but I I'd give the runners the benefit of the doubt and return them to their bases, whether they were tagged or not. I can't reasonably expect the players (especially HS players) to stand on a base after the winning run scored. Once the appeal was upheld, I'd return the vacated runners to their proper base and continue the game with 2 outs.

Kevin Finnerty Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 594833)
Maybe I'm different, but I I'd give the runners the benefit of the doubt and return them to their bases, whether they were tagged or not. I can't reasonably expect the players (especially HS players) to stand on a base after the winning run scored. Once the appeal was upheld, I'd return the vacated runners to their proper base and continue the game with 2 outs.

That's because you're reasonable and sportsmanlike.

jdmara Thu Apr 09, 2009 08:28am

How about this situation:

R1 and B3 up to bat with a 3-2 count and 1 out. R1 attempting to steal on the pitch. On a high pitch (ball), B3 check swings and F2 comes out of his crouch position (to throw out R2) which partial blocks the PU view of the swing. F2 instinctively throws it to F4 to putout R2 stealing. The PU did not believe he offered and declares "Ball Four". R1 hears "Ball Four" and slows to a jog. F2's throw beats R1 to the base and was tagged by F4. The BU signals nothing, "Ball four gentlemen".

The defensive coach asks the catcher to appeal the swing, he asks the PU to appeal, and the PU asks the BU. "Did he go?" The BU clearly saw that he went and declares, "Yes, he went!" The batter is declared out by the PU. What do you do with the R1? Lets not get in a pi$$ing match of "this would never happen to me because I would have went to BU right away" or "the BU better agree with my call". Mistakes happen and, as the PU, you thought it wasn't even close (but obviously your view was blocked more than you thought).

(Sorry gentleman, I have to leave for the day. Will continue this later...)

-Josh


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1