The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 02, 2002, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 138
About a month or so ago I posted a situation/question about the pitcher throwing to a player (F6) who was not close to the bag in an attempt to retire a runner. The responses basically said that it was not a balk unless it happened at first base.

Here is my new and related question. Right-handed pitcher in stretch position. Bases loaded and the runner on second has a sizeable lead, in close proximity of F6. The pitcher steps directly to 3B and throws to F6 in an attempt to tag the runner. Obviously the pitcher must step towards the base he is throwing but what about throwing to a fielder? Could this be considered a balk?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1