The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   When to call Time on an injury (FED) (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/51969-when-call-time-injury-fed.html)

Tom H. Sun Mar 01, 2009 01:10pm

When to call Time on an injury (FED)
 
Hello Forum!
Looking for opinions on a play that I had yesterday (‘scrimmage game’ but all calls ‘live’) that involved an injury.
R1 & R2 -- GB to F4 who does not pick it up clean – F4 decides to go to 1B for the sure out – F3 stretching for throw & ball beats the BR – BR “misses” the base but not F3’s foot/ankle (BR had to step on the 2B side of bag to make this contact—at first not sure on intention, later felt that it was unintentional just dumb) –F3 goes down in a heap & is rolling around still in possession of the ball. From what I saw of the contact by the BR on F3 and his reaction I felt that it could be a significant injury. Meanwhile F2 was heading for Home and F1 for 3B.
I then called Time and told runners to return to 2B & 3B and allowed the HC to attend to F3. Prior to returning to game play the Offensive HC wanted an explanation of why I called Time and did not let runs score (he was ‘loosing’ by a lot of runs). I told him that safety of the players was the reason. As I watched the BR’s reaction to what happened I was convinced that it was not intentional (if it was an intentional act there would be no way that I would let them gain an advantage and would have an EJ).
If I am remembering my rule correctly an injury to a player NOT directly involved in a ‘play’ is delayed DB so perhaps I ‘pulled the trigger’ prematurely but with the fact that it was not a ‘regular’ game (scrimmage) and the possibility of intention I killed the play. Made this decision in the span of 5-10 seconds.
What say ye?

Rich Ives Sun Mar 01, 2009 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tom H. (Post 584271)
Hello Forum!
Looking for opinions on a play that I had yesterday (‘scrimmage game’ but all calls ‘live’) that involved an injury.
R1 & R2 -- GB to F4 who does not pick it up clean – F4 decides to go to 1B for the sure out – F3 stretching for throw & ball beats the BR – BR “misses” the base but not F3’s foot/ankle (BR had to step on the 2B side of bag to make this contact—at first not sure on intention, later felt that it was unintentional just dumb) –F3 goes down in a heap & is rolling around still in possession of the ball. From what I saw of the contact by the BR on F3 and his reaction I felt that it could be a significant injury. Meanwhile F2 was heading for Home and F1 for 3B.
I then called Time and told runners to return to 2B & 3B and allowed the HC to attend to F3. Prior to returning to game play the Offensive HC wanted an explanation of why I called Time and did not let runs score (he was ‘loosing’ by a lot of runs). I told him that safety of the players was the reason. As I watched the BR’s reaction to what happened I was convinced that it was not intentional (if it was an intentional act there would be no way that I would let them gain an advantage and would have an EJ).
If I am remembering my rule correctly an injury to a player NOT directly involved in a ‘play’ is delayed DB so perhaps I ‘pulled the trigger’ prematurely but with the fact that it was not a ‘regular’ game (scrimmage) and the possibility of intention I killed the play. Made this decision in the span of 5-10 seconds.
What say ye?

5-2-1-d

You don't call time unless further play would jeopardize the injured player's safety.

Bishopcolle Sun Mar 01, 2009 01:34pm

Delayed dead ball? Not really dead, is it? I think it is a delayed "time out call." Let the play run, you can still eject if after you think it through you find intent...It is not a "serious" injury, like a blow to the head, so I think I'd let it play out....

DG Sun Mar 01, 2009 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 584280)
Delayed dead ball? Not really dead, is it? I think it is a delayed "time out call." Let the play run, you can still eject if after you think it through you find intent...It is not a "serious" injury, like a blow to the head, so I think I'd let it play out....

Malicious contact is immediate dead ball. So if you are going to eject the BR then runners go back. Since BR is also out before reaching 1B I expect the runners would go back to TOP base.

Incidently, a pre-season scrimmage game would be a real good time to eject for MC so he might be more careful when the season starts.

Bishopcolle Sun Mar 01, 2009 08:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 584341)
Malicious contact is immediate dead ball. So if you are going to eject the BR then runners go back. Since BR is also out before reaching 1B I expect the runners would go back to TOP base.

Incidently, a pre-season scrimmage game would be a real good time to eject for MC so he might be more careful when the season starts.

I agree with you on the MC...if that is what you have, bang it dead immediately....but

"at first not sure on intention, later felt that it was unintentional just dumb" with this as his statement, I was thinking delayed time-out...let it play, and then make a ruling....

jicecone Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:46pm

As with all calls "Good Judgement" is required.

I have officiated many many sporting contests in both ice hockey and baseball, just remember, you are certified to officiate. When you receive your board certification to practice medicine, then will you be able to make that call perfectly. If you have to error, Error on the side of safety.

Any coach that questions that, should not be allowed around kids.

mbyron Mon Mar 02, 2009 07:58am

Here's how I think of this question. Suppose you let play continue. How long will that take? 10 seconds? Can't the average batter runner get around the bases (4x90 feet = 360 feet = 120 yards) in less than 15 seconds? That's not much time.

So now ask yourself: in what kinds of cases will 10 or 15 seconds make a difference? That's the only difference between stopping play immediately and letting play continue.

One answer has already been given: if the injured player is at risk of further injury, then kill it.

If the injured player is unconscious, has stopped breathing, or is bleeding from the ears (serious head injury), then 10-20 seconds can make a difference. If the injured player is cut so badly that you see arterial spray, then you also need to stop play. These injuries are quite rare, but if you happen to see you address it immediately.

Some guys add a compound fracture (bone sticking through skin), which is kind of a gross injury and has additional risk of shock. It's not, however, life threatening, and 10 seconds will not make a difference -- it doesn't meet my test.

Otherwise, let play continue. If a coach complains, tell him that you saw the injury, that by rule we play on, and that the 10 seconds needed to do so didn't make a difference to the injured player's condition. Heck, the first 10 seconds they stand around an injured player and ask where it hurts.

CajunNewBlue Mon Mar 02, 2009 08:55am

Sorry to disagree with the OP's umpire... but this is MC and is referenced in the casebook almost verbatim. if this was a high school level game (i know some younger groups play by FED also) but, if it was high school... they darn well know better what part of the base to step on. If the runner wasn't bumped into F3 or stumbled, then ran over his foot... I'm calling MC.

Kevin Finnerty Mon Mar 02, 2009 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 584471)
Sorry to disagree with the OP's umpire... but this is MC and is referenced in the casebook almost verbatim. if this was a high school level game (i know some younger groups play by FED also) but, if it was high school... they darn well know better what part of the base to step on. If the runner wasn't bumped into F3 or stumbled, then ran over his foot... I'm calling MC.

Me too. That play is as chickens--t as it gets.

jdmara Mon Mar 02, 2009 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 584471)
Sorry to disagree with the OP's umpire... but this is MC and is referenced in the casebook almost verbatim. if this was a high school level game (i know some younger groups play by FED also) but, if it was high school... they darn well know better what part of the base to step on. If the runner wasn't bumped into F3 or stumbled, then ran over his foot... I'm calling MC.

I'm not disagreeing with the conclusion but where in the casebook does it cite that unintentionally stepping on the foot/ankle of the fielder is MC?

-Josh

youngump Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 584456)
Here's how I think of this question. Suppose you let play continue. How long will that take? 10 seconds? Can't the average batter runner get around the bases (4x90 feet = 360 feet = 120 yards) in less than 15 seconds? That's not much time.

So now ask yourself: in what kinds of cases will 10 or 15 seconds make a difference? That's the only difference between stopping play immediately and letting play continue.

One answer has already been given: if the injured player is at risk of further injury, then kill it.

If the injured player is unconscious, has stopped breathing, or is bleeding from the ears (serious head injury), then 10-20 seconds can make a difference. If the injured player is cut so badly that you see arterial spray, then you also need to stop play. These injuries are quite rare, but if you happen to see you address it immediately.

Some guys add a compound fracture (bone sticking through skin), which is kind of a gross injury and has additional risk of shock. It's not, however, life threatening, and 10 seconds will not make a difference -- it doesn't meet my test.

Otherwise, let play continue. If a coach complains, tell him that you saw the injury, that by rule we play on, and that the 10 seconds needed to do so didn't make a difference to the injured player's condition. Heck, the first 10 seconds they stand around an injured player and ask where it hurts.

Do I read this that F3 had the ball when he called time? If so, continued play would have either involved F3 playing on the ankle or someone on the team running at F3 at velocity to get the ball. I don't think your 10 second rule is really looking at this correctly.
________
buy a condo in Pattaya

Kevin Finnerty Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:42pm

He's saying that it is almost always intentional and probably in this instance as well, and that he, like many of us, take a dim view of that particular stunt because it's cowardly and bush--especially if the first baseman is giving you a clear shot at the bag. If it's your judgment that it was unintentional, then fine; but if it's done, I am virtually always going to discern intent.

mbyron Mon Mar 02, 2009 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 584550)
Do I read this that F3 had the ball when he called time? If so, continued play would have either involved F3 playing on the ankle or someone on the team running at F3 at velocity to get the ball. I don't think your 10 second rule is really looking at this correctly.

My comment was not directly about the OP. And if runners are moving between bases, I will not be granting time to F3 when he falls to the ground.

10-15 seconds is the time it would take for the last runner to run all the way around the diamond. The defense running around is irrelevant. My point was that I will not stop play unless that 10-15 seconds would make a difference to saving the injured player's life.

CajunNewBlue Mon Mar 02, 2009 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 584488)
I'm not disagreeing with the conclusion but where in the casebook does it cite that unintentionally stepping on the foot/ankle of the fielder is MC?

-Josh

I am currently looking for it in the current one.... I know ive read it in one of the following... 2009 baseball rules or caseplays... 2008 baseball rules or caseplays or rules by topic. but perhaps i pulled this one out of my butt from the FED or NCAA softball rules (i know its baseball, but dang, if its MC for the girls im calling it for the boys). its in one of them.

Rich Ives Mon Mar 02, 2009 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 584654)
I am currently looking for it in the current one.... I know ive read it in one of the following... 2009 baseball rules or caseplays... 2008 baseball rules or caseplays or rules by topic. but perhaps i pulled this one out of my butt from the FED or NCAA softball rules (i know its baseball, but dang, if its MC for the girls im calling it for the boys). its in one of them.

Malicious contact requires excessive force and/or intent to injure - any maybe avoidable contact. Too many people are judging any contact as malicious.

CajunNewBlue Mon Mar 02, 2009 03:51pm

hrmmm.... hard to not say "intentional" when practice after practice they are taught/instructed to run and touch the bag.... then they don't put into play what they practice... i judge that as intentional. ie: they know to run and touch the bag and chose NOT to do that....if he had stumbled, or had been bumped or had pressure from a foul side throw.. maybe not intentional..... but, that's just me.

johnnyg08 Mon Mar 02, 2009 04:15pm

I saw it one time two years ago and one time last year. I have gotten to the point where I am considering ejecting the next player at the high school varsity level and above because the more I think about it, I was pretty fast back in the day and attempted bunt singles many, many times and not one time did I ever come near F3's foot. I guess I'm having a hard time seeing it as accidental upon further review.

johnnyg08 Mon Mar 02, 2009 04:32pm

I skimmed through the case book and the 2009 Rules by Topic and didn't see this rule...but I did skim through the books...

SAump Tue Mar 03, 2009 06:37pm

A coach's perspective
 
Some teams think the bag is in the base path and the runner is entitled to run through the bag. I saw the same batter run into F3 on two seperate occasions. The first time, he successfully manages to seperate F3 from the ball. The second time, he was out. I couldn't read intent, but I warned him to avoid contact with the fielder. His coach thought I shouldn't have said anything about it.

CajunNewBlue Wed Mar 04, 2009 08:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump (Post 585149)
Some teams think the bag is in the base path and the runner is entitled to run through the bag. I saw the same batter run into F3 on two seperate occasions. The first time, he successfully manages to seperate F3 from the ball. The second time, he was out. I couldn't read intent, but I warned him to avoid contact with the fielder. His coach thought I shouldn't have said anything about it.

Why wouldn't they be allowed/entitled to run thru the bag? if F3 blocks the bag and only gives them the very outside/foul side of first i might be inclined to call OBS (if the runner changes direction or is impeded)..ohh wait this is baseball...never mind ;)

bob jenkins Wed Mar 04, 2009 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump (Post 585149)
Some teams think the bag is in the base path and the runner is entitled to run through the bag.

I agree with "some teams." I have no idea what transpired in your plays, or what this has to do with the OP.

SAump Thu Mar 05, 2009 08:28pm

Refer to OP
 
Quote:

I then called Time and told runners to return to 2B & 3B and allowed the HC to attend to F3. Prior to returning to game play the Offensive HC wanted an explanation of why I called Time and did not let runs score (he was ‘loosing’ by a lot of runs).
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 584661)
Malicious contact requires excessive force and/or intent to injure - any maybe avoidable contact. Too many people are judging any contact as malicious.

Can or should this contact between F3 and B/R be considered interference, if not malicious contact? No runs would have scored in a 2 out situation as a result of the 3rd out made at 1B. The judgment made to determine interference is based on whether or not other baserunners would have chosen to advance had F3 not fallen to the ground, and for no other cause. Interference in this situation would also immediately kill the play and not require an "injury" time out. The closest rules I could find relate to 5.1.1.e {et al.}.

SAump Thu Mar 05, 2009 09:46pm

Rule is not so orange and white
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 585272)
I agree with "some teams." I have no idea what transpired in your plays, or what this has to do with the OP.

In both situations, F3 did not do anything, in my best judgment, to warrant collision with B/R. Everyone in "my" play knew the runner would be out at 1B. I never saw a B/R collide with F3 on consecutive plays. I didn't know he would be running into F3 again. Did the B/R know this? I don't know. But I felt that he may have purposely run into F3 in an effort to dislodge the ball because of the previous play. I had to say something to him and his coach came out to defend his player for running through the bag. Considering player safety is a situational thing. I agree with the umpire's actions in the OP. The situation does not excuse a B/R for haphazardly running through a bag. It was the right thing to do.

Kevin Finnerty Thu Mar 05, 2009 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 584661)
Malicious contact requires excessive force and/or intent to injure - any maybe avoidable contact. Too many people are judging any contact as malicious.

Going on the fair side of the bag for no apparent reason is a malicious act. And I like to let guys play the game. But that's the kind of chickens--t bush move that must result in an ejection for more than one key reason, including preventing a retaliatory act.

I am not looking for ejections, but that would be one of them.

bob jenkins Fri Mar 06, 2009 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump (Post 585843)
In both situations, F3 did not do anything, in my best judgment, to warrant collision with B/R.

As I read the play (and it's hard to do), BR ran through the bag and then collided with F3. So, F3 was (approximately) on the foul line toward right field? WTF was he doing there? While being there doesn't "warrant" a collision, it sure puts him in jeopardy of one.

PeteBooth Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:21am

[QUOTE]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tom H. (Post 584271)
Hello Forum!


F3 goes down in a heap & is rolling around still in possession of the ball. From what I saw of the contact by the BR on F3 and his reaction I felt that it could be a significant injury. Meanwhile F2 was heading for Home and F1 for 3B.


[FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]I then called Time and told runners to return to 2B & 3B and allowed the HC to attend to F3. Prior to returning to game play the Offensive HC wanted an explanation of why I called Time and did not let runs score (he was ‘loosing’ by a lot of runs). I told him that safety of the players was the reason.

Where was F4 / F1 during this time?

When F1 / F4 saw their teammate lying on the ground, why didn't they come over and simply take the ball out of F3's glove, keep the other runners at bay and then ask for TIME which they would have received.

I agree err on the side of safety but what were F3's teammates doing during this time, simply watching F3 in pain and making no attempt to get the ball.

IMO, be careful when calling time because at that precise moment (most things happen in a heartbeat) you cannot tell if the player is truly hurt or simply faking it to keep the runners from scoring.

As another poster said we are officials NOT Doctors.

In Summary: I would let play continue. It's up to F3's teammates to come over, get the ball and then STOP play.

Pete Booth

BigGref Sun Mar 08, 2009 07:06pm

I want to throw a quick side question out there.

Who calls this? (2 man)
Base umpire always?
base umpire if in B or C will have difficulty seeing if BR was coming inside
I think Base Ump can see this pretty clearly A.
Can/should PU call this

bob jenkins Mon Mar 09, 2009 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGref (Post 586466)
I want to throw a quick side question out there.

Who calls this? (2 man)
Base umpire always?
base umpire if in B or C will have difficulty seeing if BR was coming inside
I think Base Ump can see this pretty clearly A.
Can/should PU call this


PU has running lane violations. Both have interference responsibilities.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1