![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
So I will have good luck with these books... Thanks Buddy:rolleyes: |
Missed Base 101
You won't find this in a rule book.
THE LAST TIME BY. by George Lucy & Warren Wilson Link: THE LAST TIME BY Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
What does R2 being inside or outside the dirt circle have to do with anything? Tim. |
It ends this circus
Quote:
It fails to provide information about the runner. Which option is close enough to meet the "established" criteria? How long does immediately take? About as much as option A) scrambling back to tag the plate from the area near the dugout. Where does immediate vicinity begin? About as much as B) heading toward the dugout from the area near the plate. Where is R2, how did he get there, and what did he do afterwards? I am willing to give either team the benefit of doubt. But I need that info to make a ruling on this play. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In (a), R2 is not out and the run counts. F2 would have had to tag him for the appeal. In (b), it is an appeal play and R2 is out since he left the plate area heading for the dugout. The runner has to make an Immediate effort to return, of course this is a judgment call.[/QUOTE] |
From JV101
Yes, the correct answers have been given a 1/2 dozen times, or more.
What I have been trying to say, put down the book. The catcher is standing on the plate with the ball, "I'm appealing!" A) Did he make it up to gain an unfair advantage, or B) is he alert to the actions around him? In A) I would allow the runner to correct his mistake. In B) I would grant the appeal. The direction the runner is facing, either scrambling back or headed to, has no bearing on my call. Who ran past the plate to avoid a tag play? Had he slid into the plate, there would have been a tag out or a safe ruling. Had he stayed relatively close to the plate, there would have been a tag out or safe ruling. Yes, I would use the dirt area around the plate in my criteria for granting an appeal too. |
I'll give you props for post #5
Quote:
Pete Booth answered correctly in post #10, further clarification was needed in B. Hopefully, I have my fingers crossed, someone will understand further clarification was need in A, as well. F2 wouldn't have time to relax with an advancing B/R. Props to him for knowing how to handle a "perplexing" situation. What do we have, DP? The well-coached teams usually pull it off. |
Quote:
A) Did he make it up to gain an unfair advantage, or B) is he alert to the actions around him? Did you read... The Catcher missed the tag,and the runner missed home, So F@ jump up and said" i'm appealing".. then F2 threw the ball to 2nd to try and retire a advancing BR... when/where was he trying to gain a unfair advantage? He knew that he missed the tag and R2 missed home, so and for him to gain a unfair advantage?.... The direction the runner is facing, either scrambling back or headed to, has no bearing on my call. The direction the runner is facing.. where was that in the OP?... all it said was he was scrambling back to home... and then he ( the runner) left the plate area headed fro the dugout. |
Quote:
Ran past the plate? where in the heck are you making this stuff up from?... the runner missed home,Have you never seen a runner miss home on a slide where he is just sticking out hand to touch the plate?... |
Quote:
Even though the "dirt area" was included in the D3K senarios, it has no place in determining when a runner can correct his non-touch of home. The protest would/should be upheld if one should arise. We cannot make up arbitrary rules for which there is no support. There are only two instances when a player cannot go back and touch home. One, as stated, when he has entered the dugout, and two, when a following runner has scored. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54am. |