The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Missed Home (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/50525-missed-home.html)

Ump153 Wed Dec 24, 2008 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 561224)
ok here is the answer...

In (a), R2 is not out and the run counts. F2 would have had to tag him for the appeal. In (b), it is an appeal play and R2 is out since he left the plate area heading for the dugout. The runner has to make an Immediate effort to return, of course this is a judgment call.

So, everyone gave you the correct answer, you had no clue as to why they were correct, (as disclosed by your question regarding relaxed and unrelaxed action), and then you repeated their answers in an attempt to demonstrate that even if you didn't know why they were correct, you knew they were correct.

Strange game.

yawetag Wed Dec 24, 2008 02:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeteBooth (Post 561214)
Example: Ground ball to F4 who throws to F3. B1 beats the play but does not touch first base. B1 is some 10-12 ft passed the bag and F3 steps on first and says "Blue B1 missed the bag" - Umpire will make the ruling in this case out.

Same as above EXCEPT B1 after passing first base immediately scrambles back (action = un-relaxed). In that instance B1 must be tagged in order to get the out.

Why would a tag have to be made on your second situation? The runner missed the bag, so touching the bag would make him out, regardless if he's running back to touch it or not, right?

If I'm wrong, I'd love to see some references to this.

Umpmazza Wed Dec 24, 2008 02:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump153 (Post 561307)
So, everyone gave you the correct answer, you had no clue as to why they were correct, (as disclosed by your question regarding relaxed and unrelaxed action), and then you repeated their answers in an attempt to demonstrate that even if you didn't know why they were correct, you knew they were correct.

Strange game.

Not everyone gave correct answer...and I have never heard of the Relaxed or Unrelaxed... that is a Jaska and Roder thing... please show me that in the OBR rules, NCAA rules..

I knew that people had given the right answers... Likek I said i wanted to see if anyone knew the answers.. I had gotten the new study guide...

mbyron Wed Dec 24, 2008 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 561318)
Not everyone gave correct answer...and I have never heard of the Relaxed or Unrelaxed... that is a Jaska and Roder thing... please show me that in the OBR rules, NCAA rules..

Please show me where your OP stated the rule set.

PeteBooth Wed Dec 24, 2008 10:35am

Quote:

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 561317)
Why would a tag have to be made on your second situation? The runner missed the bag, so touching the bag would make him out, regardless if he's running back to touch it or not, right?

If I'm wrong, I'd love to see some references to this.


On a play where B1 beats the throw to first base but does NOT touch the base, the proper mechanic is for the umpire to signal safe.

At one time in FED ONLY an "accidental appeal" was allowed. That is NOT the case anymore.

Therefore, if B1 beats the throw and missed first base, F3 MUST tag B1 to get the out provided the action is un-relaxed ie: B1 immediately turns around to touch the base.


Pete Booth

PeteBooth Wed Dec 24, 2008 10:39am

[QUOTE]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 561318)
Not everyone gave correct answer...and I have never heard of the Relaxed or Unrelaxed... that is a Jaska and Roder thing... please show me that in the OBR rules, NCAA rules..

As been stated you will NOT find the terms Re-laxed / Un-relaxed action in the rule book.

Since you said that is a Jaska and Roder thing.. it's apparent that you do not adhere to authoritative opinion concerning the rules.

It has been noted that there are some 230 errors contained in the OBR rule-book and that's why it's important at least IMO to have supplemental materials such as the J/R manual to better explain the rules through case play examples.

Pete Booth

Chris_Hickman Wed Dec 24, 2008 11:18am

The state of the US and this whole recession thing is making me feel unrelaxed!!

Kevin Finnerty Wed Dec 24, 2008 11:40am

I suppose there is a difference between errors and insufficiencies. The 230 number covers a lot more than just errors in the rules.

Ump153 Wed Dec 24, 2008 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 561398)
I suppose there is a difference between errors and insufficiencies. The 230 number covers a lot more than just errors in the rules.

It covers errors and inconsistencies....not insufficiencies.

Umpmazza Wed Dec 24, 2008 01:27pm

[QUOTE=PeteBooth;561384]
Quote:


As been stated you will NOT find the terms Re-laxed / Un-relaxed action in the rule book.

Since you said that is a Jaska and Roder thing.. it's apparent that you do not adhere to authoritative opinion concerning the rules.

It has been noted that there are some 230 errors contained in the OBR rule-book and that's why it's important at least IMO to have supplemental materials such as the J/R manual to better explain the rules through case play examples.

Pete Booth
Pete your right I dont have a Jaska and Roder book.. Its on my Xmas list...LOL

Umpmazza Wed Dec 24, 2008 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 561328)
Please show me where your OP stated the rule set.

What i was referring to was, That I have no idea about J/R manual...What i said was the Relaxed and unrelaxed is not any any of the rules books.... So I know I need the J/R manual.

PeteBooth Wed Dec 24, 2008 02:05pm

[QUOTE]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 561436)
Quote:

Originally Posted by PeteBooth (Post 561384)

Pete your right I dont have a Jaska and Roder book.. Its on my Xmas list...LOL


Mazz if you get paid for your services and Santa does not get you the JR manual perhaps you can use some of the game FEES to purchase it.

FWIW I would also purchase Carl Childress's BRD (Baseball Rule differences) which you can get on this site.

Pete Booth

DG Wed Dec 24, 2008 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 561318)
I have never heard of the Relaxed or Unrelaxed... that is a Jaska and Roder thing... please show me that in the OBR rules, NCAA rules..

If you depend only on the rule books you will never be a good umpire. You must get supplemental study materials that explain in greater detail, and/or explain what is not explained by the written rules.

DonInKansas Wed Dec 24, 2008 08:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeteBooth (Post 561382)
On a play where B1 beats the throw to first base but does NOT touch the base, the proper mechanic is for the umpire to signal safe.

At one time in FED ONLY an "accidental appeal" was allowed. That is NOT the case anymore.

Therefore, if B1 beats the throw and missed first base, F3 MUST tag B1 to get the out provided the action is un-relaxed ie: B1 immediately turns around to touch the base.


Pete Booth

How can B1 beat the throw to 1st base if he doesn't touch it? Isn't that HOW he beats the throw is by touching 1st?

SethPDX Wed Dec 24, 2008 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DonInKansas (Post 561521)
How can B1 beat the throw to 1st base if he doesn't touch it? Isn't that HOW he beats the throw is by touching 1st?

When he passes a base, he is considered to be "at" that base.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1