The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Part of Foot on Home Plate (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/5039-part-foot-home-plate.html)

Hotshot Wed May 29, 2002 07:12am

If the Batter has part of his foot on Home Plate but part of the same foot is on the white line of the batter's box, is he out if he hits the ball? Little League / Major Boys

Marty Rogers Wed May 29, 2002 07:17am

No

Entire foot has to be out of the batter's
box. White lines are part of the box.
Have fun explaining this to any coach.

Rich Ives Wed May 29, 2002 08:26am

Just refer the coach to rule 6.006(a)

greymule Wed May 29, 2002 12:12pm

Possible confusion because in softball, batter making contact with foot placed as described IS out.

Roger Greene Wed May 29, 2002 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
Possible confusion because in softball, batter making contact with foot placed as described IS out.
Also true in Fed baseball.

Roger Greene

Jim Porter Wed May 29, 2002 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
Possible confusion because in softball, batter making contact with foot placed as described IS out.
Not in Little League softball.

greymule Wed May 29, 2002 02:51pm

Re: Not in Little League softball.

I should have specified ASA and Fed. Forgot all about Fed baseball, too, so thanks, Roger. I'll have to check the BRD to see NCAA's position.

Mike M Wed May 29, 2002 02:57pm

NCAA
 
Same as FED. ALSO: If the batter hits a "foul tip" while not "within the lines of the batter's box" it is not a foul tip but a foul ball. Batter is out.

greymule Wed May 29, 2002 03:15pm

So Fed baseball, NCAA baseball, ASA softball, and Fed softball say your foot can't be touching the plate when you make contact.

MLB, Little League/Major Boys, and Little League softball say it can.

Never considered the foul tip wrinkle. NCAA says not a foul tip, batter out. How about the others?

Need to know soon.

brandda Wed May 29, 2002 04:53pm

There is another side of this. In LL the rule states that the foot has to land completely outside of the batter's box. If his foot is on the line, it does not matter if it touches the plate.

Marty Rogers Wed May 29, 2002 06:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by brandda
There is another side of this. In LL the rule states that the foot has to land completely outside of the batter's box. If his foot is on the line, it does not matter if it touches the plate.

Do I hear an ECHO in here?

bob jenkins Thu May 30, 2002 11:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule

Never considered the foul tip wrinkle. NCAA says not a foul tip, batter out. How about the others?

Need to know soon.

Treat just as for all batted balls.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1