The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed May 15, 2002, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member

Tonight, I was forced to eject a coach when he made a profane comment towards me, not about my umpiring. I took crap from him all night about balls/strikes and calls on the bases (I was the only umpire at a Jr. High championship game). I was wondering, when filling out the papers that I have to send in to the state high school atletic association, how specific I should be. I was told by another umpire to be very specific about the terms for me ejecting the coach, but I don't know how specific to be. Do I put his exact words, or do I just explain the verbal abuse he directed towards me? This is my first year certified and I don't quite know how to go about this. Any suggestions would help greatly.
Old Thu May 16, 2002, 06:43am
Official Forum Member

Paperwork

On documentation, as well as in court, it's correct to quote exactly.

Remember, he will be answering to his Athletic Director and will have his side of the story. If your documentation is too vague, he may convince a third party that you over-reacted. If you are very specific, he has to answer to those points -- far more difficult for him.
Old Thu May 16, 2002, 06:50am
Administrator

Quote:
Originally posted by Buckeye12