The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Run Down Mechanics (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/49441-run-down-mechanics.html)

DG Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:07pm

I would have bet a small sum that PU stays home on this situation. But I have a redbook and it says PU takes it all.

This is not something I have gone over in pre-game, and in fact don't happen very often. I tend to discuss stuff that comes up a lot in pre-game.

David B Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 544556)
Sorry, Pete. Your alternative provides too many opportunties for missed plays. The correct mechanic takes into account the drawbacks of two man mechanics provides far better coverage off both runners at three bases and home.

At best, your "different alternative" (BTW aren't alternatives "different" by definition"?) is patchwork umpiring.

Its easy to try and dismiss what Pete is saying because of what's is written in the book, but in reality the PU cannot make the call if R3 decides to return to 3rd diving back. Especially if he dives on the foul side of the bag.

Now if there are a couple of throws and PU has time to move into better position, (which is usually the case), but when R3 gets in rundown and on first throw back to F2 heads back to 3rd, then I've seen this play missed many times by the PU.

We've discussed this many times with different opinions, but if I'm PU, I want U2 watching the play at third.

Very unusual to see a quick throw to 2nd on this play,

At least that's the way I've seen it and have covered it with no problems.

thanks
David

SAump Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:31pm

9th Inning See-saw
 
BU better be nimble, better be quick, better not leave there looking like a prick.

bobbybanaduck Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B (Post 544654)
Its easy to try and dismiss what Pete is saying because of what's is written in the book, but in reality the PU cannot make the call if R3 decides to return to 3rd diving back. Especially if he dives on the foul side of the bag.

Now if there are a couple of throws and PU has time to move into better position, (which is usually the case), but when R3 gets in rundown and on first throw back to F2 heads back to 3rd, then I've seen this play missed many times by the PU.

We've discussed this many times with different opinions, but if I'm PU, I want U2 watching the play at third.

Very unusual to see a quick throw to 2nd on this play,

At least that's the way I've seen it and have covered it with no problems.

thanks
David

David,

There are inconsistencies in your post and what the manual dictates. It sounds like you are concerned with R3 going back into 3B before the Pu has had ample to time to get into position. In this case, the BU would still have the play there. The PU does not have it all until he has it all...meaning he does not communicate to his partner, "I've got it all!" until he has moved into such a postion so as he CAN have it all. (The PU should be moving in the direction of 3B and should communicate to the BU that he has it all when he has gotten into position AND the runner has turned to head back toward home.) The first play, or any subsequent plays, on R3 into 3B belong to the BU until that responsibility is taken over by the PU.

MrUmpire Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B (Post 544654)
Its easy to try and dismiss what Pete is saying because of what's is written in the book, but in reality the PU cannot make the call if R3 decides to return to 3rd diving back. Especially if he dives on the foul side of the bag.

Now if there are a couple of throws and PU has time to move into better position, (which is usually the case), but when R3 gets in rundown and on first throw back to F2 heads back to 3rd, then I've seen this play missed many times by the PU.

We've discussed this many times with different opinions, but if I'm PU, I want U2 watching the play at third.

Very unusual to see a quick throw to 2nd on this play,

At least that's the way I've seen it and have covered it with no problems.

thanks
David

You seem to forget that the BU takes the third base half until PU gets into position to take it all, thus rendering your initial argument moot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1