The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Wanting to be sure about re-entry (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/49070-wanting-sure-about-re-entry.html)

harmbu Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:55am

Wanting to be sure about re-entry
 
FED rules. I just wanted to be sure that I have this correct. I have a DH in my lineup hitting for my pitcher. The DH walks and I enter the pitcher into the game to run for him. The next inning, their spot comes up. The DH re-enters and hits. The next inning, the pitcher re-enters and takes the mound. Is everything legal here?

JJ Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:28am

Yes.

JJ

Fritz Tue Sep 23, 2008 01:39pm

JJ, are you sure? 3-1-4(a) says that the role of DH is terminated for the rest of the game when the defensive player the DH is batting for subsequently bats, pinch hits or pinch runs for the DH.

So in the OP, the DH is eliminated once the pitcher came in to pinch run the first time correct?

On the other hand, would the original DH be able to replace the pitcher in the next at-bat on the basis that he was a starter and can re-enter once? And if that is the case and even if the DH has by definition been eliminated, can the original pitcher (assuming he is still pitching) come in an pinch run one more time because as a starter, he can also re-enter once?

I'm so confused.........

UmpJM Tue Sep 23, 2008 02:14pm

Fritz,

JJ is correct. As you (correctly) pointed out, when the defensive player who is "sharing" the batting order spot with the DH pinch runs (or bats) for him, the DH "role" is terminated for the remainder of the game - on the other hand, the player who was fulfilling that role is not "terminated".

Under FED rules, when a team elects to use the DH, they have 10 "starters" and nine batting order spots. When the defensive player sharing the DH spot plays on offense, the offensive player leaves the game; in effect, he is substituted for with a(nother) "starter". Since he is a starter, he has the privilege of re-entering the game one time. The defensive starter who "enters" on offense has never left the game/been substituted for, so he may still leave the game subsequently and re-enter on more time.

So, in your sitch, we have the DH batting for the pitcher. The pitcher comes in to pinch run for the DH after the DH reaches base. The DH role is now terminated for the remainder of the game. Subsequently, the pitcher who pinch ran has his spot come up in the lineup. The manager chooses to sub the original DH to pinch hit. Perfectly legal. That player has now "used up" his starter's re-entry privilege. He gets on base and the manager has the pitcher pinch run for him. Perfcetly legal. The DH is now done for the remainder of the game and the pitcher has "used up" his re-entry privilege.

Fritz Tue Sep 23, 2008 03:17pm

yeah, I walked my way thru it and then realized I forgot to add the final sentence to my first reply........"oh yeah, JJ, now I get it!"

Gosh I hate administering the DH rule!

rei Tue Sep 23, 2008 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fritz (Post 538871)
Gosh I hate administering the DH rule!

HAHaha......try administering the NCAA DH rule!

bossman72 Tue Sep 23, 2008 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rei (Post 538891)
HAHaha......try administering the NCAA DH rule!

Is that even possible? haha

I'm looking to possibly get into NCAA next year and I dread having to learn that rule.

harmbu Wed Sep 24, 2008 01:10pm

Another twist
 
How about this. the DH, who is batting for the pitcher, reaches base. I know I can put my pitcher in to run for the DH as a pinch runner. Then can I immediately courtesy run for the pitcher?

bob jenkins Wed Sep 24, 2008 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by harmbu (Post 539066)
How about this. the DH, who is batting for the pitcher, reaches base. I know I can put my pitcher in to run for the DH as a pinch runner. Then can I immediately courtesy run for the pitcher?

Yes.

DG Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by harmbu (Post 539066)
How about this. the DH, who is batting for the pitcher, reaches base. I know I can put my pitcher in to run for the DH as a pinch runner. Then can I immediately courtesy run for the pitcher?

Probably legal, but my opinion of the coach is going to go down on this one.

Matt Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 539152)
Probably legal, but my opinion of the coach is going to go down on this one.

A. Your opinion of the coach is irrelevant.

B. Even if it was relevant, why would you have a problem with it? He's found a way to use the rules to his advantage. This is no different than deliberately getting a runner picked off to avoid an appeal on a different runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1