The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 25, 2002, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to mrcaroll
I was doing a major girls ( 12-14)softball game last night. Runners on 1st and 2nd 1 out. Fly ball to second baseman. I called infield fly when the ball reached its pinnacle. Runner continued to first and told the runner on first to go. The second baseman never caught the ball and the runner from second went to third. I made the mistake of calling a dead ball when i seen the girl who hit the ball round first going to second. I then called her out and sent the runners back to there original bases. The coached questioned my call about the infield fly rule. He said the girl was not able to catch the ball. I said it is not my position to determine the skill level of a player, just the position of the ball in the infield and if it was a catchable. He then said his runners should be allowed to advance on this rule. I agreed but said i had called the play dead, so they must return. I know i made the mistake on the dead ball. What should i have done with the girl who continued to run? and where should the runners on first and second be placed.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1