The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Batter interference at HP (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/46854-batter-interference-hp.html)

Illini_Ref Fri Aug 01, 2008 08:03pm

Batter interference at HP
 
Less than two outs, runners at second and third.

Batter interferes on a steal of home, runner beats the tag.

I know that the runner is out, and the ball is dead. My question is this.

If the runner from second advances to third does he stay at third? The rule (NF) states that runners return on interference by the batter and a play at a base other than home. By rule then, the runner stays unless I deem a DP could have been made. Correct???

canadaump6 Fri Aug 01, 2008 09:37pm

I know nothing about Fedlandia, but by OBR no bases may be advanced due to interference.

rei Sat Aug 02, 2008 03:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Less than two outs, runners at second and third.

Batter interferes on a steal of home, runner beats the tag.

I know that the runner is out, and the ball is dead. My question is this.

If the runner from second advances to third does he stay at third? The rule (NF) states that runners return on interference by the batter and a play at a base other than home. By rule then, the runner stays unless I deem a DP could have been made. Correct???

Errrrrrrrrr....less than 2 outs, the BATTER is out (that is why it is called Batter Interference) and both runners go back (runners cannot advance on batter interference unless attempted throw out runner is in fact throw out, then batter interference is ignored). With two outs, the runner at third it out and tell the batter you will see him next inning.

waltjp Sat Aug 02, 2008 07:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rei
Errrrrrrrrr....less than 2 outs, the BATTER is out (that is why it is called Batter Interference) and both runners go back (runners cannot advance on batter interference unless attempted throw out runner is in fact throw out, then batter interference is ignored). With two outs, the runner at third it out and tell the batter you will see him next inning.

Try again? Runner is out with less than 2 outs. Batter is out if there are 2 outs.

7-3-5 PENALTY: When there are two outs, the batter is out. When there are not two outs and the runner is advancing to home plate, if the runner is tagged out, the ball remains alive and interference is ignored. Otherwise, the ball is dead and the runner is called out. When an attempt to put out a runner at any other base is unsuccessful, the batter is out and all runners must return to bases occupied at the time of the pitch. If the pitch is a third strike and in the umpire’s judgment interference prevents a possible double play (additional outs), two may be ruled out (8-4-2g).

mbyron Sat Aug 02, 2008 08:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
If the runner from second advances to third does he stay at third? The rule (NF) states that runners return on interference by the batter and a play at a base other than home. By rule then, the runner stays unless I deem a DP could have been made. Correct???

Not correct. In general, we do not allow runners to advance because of interference. Send R2 back. See 2.00 INTERFERENCE (FED 7-3-5 Pen).

The rule might seem to allow this only because it's making room for an exception. With less than two outs and R3 stealing, we do NOT send R3 back, we call him out. So the rule cannot say "all runners return."

bob jenkins Sat Aug 02, 2008 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Less than two outs, runners at second and third.

Batter interferes on a steal of home, runner beats the tag.

I know that the runner is out, and the ball is dead. My question is this.

If the runner from second advances to third does he stay at third? The rule (NF) states that runners return on interference by the batter and a play at a base other than home. By rule then, the runner stays unless I deem a DP could have been made. Correct???

Good question. I think under FED rules that runners always return to TOI (except on a FPSR violation). So, if you judged R2 to reach third before the interference, he keeps third. MOst of the time that won't happen, and any benefit of the doubt goes to the defense.

johnnyg08 Sat Aug 02, 2008 11:06am

sending the runner back to 3B could allow a team to try multiple squeeze plays w/o losing thier runner at 3B...that's why the runner closest to home plate is called out w/ < 2 outs.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1