The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2002, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Balk, and even the guys who seldom call balks would call that one. A right-hander does not throw to 1B by lifting his left knee straight up. That's a motion toward home, part of a natural delivery to the plate. Once he does that, he cannot then step toward 1B and attempt a pickoff, no matter how he contorts to do it. He's committed to make a pitch.

Now with a runner on 3B, "straight up" as you describe, might still allow a throw to 3B, as long as the leg movement remains legal (doesn't cross the plane).
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1