The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Apr 03, 2002, 12:24am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to IndianaUmpRef
I was just wondering how long it took Indiana tournament officials to get assigned a sectional/regional, etc. I am in my 3rd year as a high school umpire and have gotten very positive feedback so far (knock on wood), which I hope is the reason for my 41 high school assignments (23 varsity)this season, my most ever. Anyway, this is my first year for postseason consideration. I have gone through the certification process, and now I play the waiting game. Just curious as to how long it took other Indiana umpires to get a postseason assignment.

I know if this were basketball, I would have no chance, but hell, I think there were only 25 or so umpires at our local certification clinic. I think there are 10 such clinics across the state. I know we need 192 umpires for sectional, so I was just wondering.

You can tell how curious I am. Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Zach
Old Sun Apr 07, 2002, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member

I have been an IHSAA umpire for the last 5 years. Went through 2 certification clinics and have applied for the tournament series the last 4 years. It has been a long wait to get in. I have progressed each year in the coaches vote. Last year I finished 29 out of 80 applicants. The first year I applied it was worst than that 65 out of 79 applicants. But it also could change due to the number of umpires needed in a particular area of the state.
Old Tue Apr 09, 2002, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member

So what year did you get your first assignment? Last year (your 4th year). I think that is what I configured from your statement.

Thanks for your input.
Old Tue Apr 09, 2002, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member