The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelope
I had a situation last night. Runner on 2nd. Pitch to batter was swung at and missed (strike) ball went off of catchers glove toward first base dugout (but stayed on field) batters bat after his initial swing came around and hit the catchers glove after ball already was missed. Runner went to third as catcher retrieved ball. I called nothing and just let the play go. Third base coach just questioned me that something should have happened that the batters' bat hit the catchers' glove. What should I have done?
Answer: Under OBR, you probably called it right. This could be "backswing interference" except that there is an exception to backswing interference for wild pitch/pass balls.

From J/R: "R3, pitch in the dirt. There is a swing and a miss and the pitch goes wild past the catcher. The backswing (then) strikes the catcher." Ruling: no interference.

In your case, if F2 clearly misplayed the pitch (pass ball) or it was a wild pitch, and then the batter hit F2 with his backswing, then it is nothing because the backswing interference was not the cause of the runner's advance...the wild pitch/pass ball was.

The key to deciding if it is backswing interference or nothing is NOT whether or not the catcher has possession or not of the ball when he is hit by the backswing. Rather, it is whether the runner is advancing because of the wild pitch or because the catcher was interfered with.

From J/R: R3, pitch in the dirt. Catcher blocks the ball (but does not have possession), when he is hit in the head by the backswing dazing him. As a result, the runner is able to run home safely. Ruling: backswing interference, R3 must return to third. Batter continues with his at-bat unless the swing and miss was strike three.

Thus, an umpire in your situation must use JUDGMENT (oh, no!) to determine the reason for the runner's advance.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1