![]() |
3rd -to - 1st Fake: Hands?
Fed:
Does a right handed pitcher have to 'break his hands' apart during the fake to third portion of an otherwise legal 3rd - to - 1st fake? How about during any other permitted fake? Can he just fake with his step, his shoulders, his head? Thanks! |
A fake does not require arm movement, only a legal step.
|
That's a Balk
Quote:
|
SA
Does fed really require hands to come apart? If he didn't disengage, then restart, then I agree. Or is this another FED difference between OBR? |
Good Question, Complicated Answer
Quote:
BRD 359, pg 223; FED: the pitcher must step ... when throwing or "legally" feinting. BRD 362, pg 225; FED: to 3B, may do that "with or without disengaging" ... BRD 359, pg 223; NCAA: the pitcher must step before he throws, but the step is not required for a "legal" feint. BRD 362, pg 225; NCAA: to 3B must disengage the PP during the feint before he will be allowed to throw (or feint) to 1B. Now if he steps off the back of the rubber first, then this same move is a legal move to 3B. F1 must seperate his hands when stepping to 3B and before turning to throw to 1B, a "legal" feint. Now I have to ask those salivating ummps out there, if F1 did not seperate his hands, where's the feint? Interesting discussion: http://www.baseball-excellence.com/s...m=2&Topic=7992 Ever try to throw a baseball w/your hands togther? A "legal" feint is an attempt to legally deceive the runner into thinking F1 will throw towards the base. What's missing from this argument? Arm motion. How does one throw or feint a throw w/out any arm motion? Pitching, by position, is all about arm motion. How about a feint of a throw? Same requirement, arm motion to seperate his hands and no requirement to complete the release. |
Quote:
|
Wedding Bells
Disengagement isn't over! :p
Pitchers are allowed to seperate their hands during a feint. This is legal under FED Rule 6-2-4e. It is a balk if he takes a hand off the ball ... unless he ... steps toward and feints a throw ... 3B. I said it was a good question w/ a very complicated answer. And where does it say that a "legal" feint doesn't require any arm motion? Is it written in a FED, NCAA or OBR rulebook? |
Ok,
So he steps toward 3B, doesn't throw, disengage, or seperate his hands. Now what?? Wouldn't this be a dont do that? Hey pitch, step off and start over, or is this a balk in FED? |
Quote:
Note that the the balk rule (6-2-4b) in FED lists "failing to STEP toward a base ..."; it says nothing about "failing to make an arm motion associated with a throw" |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Crcramer, I see you are relatively new to the site. Your first lesson: Never, ever listen to the ESPN analysts when it comes to rules! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39am. |