The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
So, what if the pitcher stepped off. Tossed it to F6 in a non-threatening manner. In other words, it is clearly *not* an attempt to pickoff R2, then F6 says, "We appeal that the runner on 3rd missed 2nd?" You'd have to honor that appeal, wouldn't you? And, if you do, wouldn't that nullify the run that scored since it *is* a force play?

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
I've changed my mind on this. I don't think it's an appeal.

I just think the FED takes the force-out wording seriously and strictly -- if the base is touched before the runner touches the base, the runner is out (and, yes, I'm paraphrasing, so don't pick apart the sentence).

In the specific instance you mentioned, though, it's no longer a force play. Notice that the "play" (Fed definition -- TOP to dead ball or ball back to F1) is over. That's how I'm justifying not calling the out on this play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1