The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Jump Turn Fake Throw (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/44068-jump-turn-fake-throw.html)

njdevs00cup Fri May 02, 2008 09:21pm

Jump Turn Fake Throw
 
Is a fake jump turn (provided the pitcher steps to first w/ the non-pivot foot and disengages) a legal move? FED

SanDiegoSteve Fri May 02, 2008 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
Is a fake jump turn (provided the pitcher steps to first w/ the non-pivot foot and disengages) a legal move? FED

No. A jump turn is not considered disengaging. To disengage, the pitcher must first step back off the rubber with his pivot foot. On a jump turn, his pivot foot merely comes off the rubber as a result of the jump, not as an intentional disengagement. Balk.

lawump Fri May 02, 2008 10:34pm

No, but I can give you the OBR ruling. A runner who makes a jump pivot is considered "in contact" with the rubber...so it would be a balk.

rei Fri May 02, 2008 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lawump
No, but I can give you the OBR ruling. A runner who makes a jump pivot is considered "in contact" with the rubber...so it would be a balk.

....in ALL rule books!

lawump Sat May 03, 2008 06:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rei
....in ALL rule books!

I assumed...but didn't want to state it...since we all know what can happen when you assume!

mbyron Sat May 03, 2008 07:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by lawump
No, but I can give you the OBR ruling. A runner who makes a jump pivot is considered "in contact" with the rubber...so it would be a balk.

Ahem. :o

Once that little matter is cleared up, I agree: jump turn + feint to 1B is a balk in all codes, since all codes require disengaging before a feint to 1B, and a jump turn is not disengaging.

RPatrino Sat May 03, 2008 09:32am

Here's a funny one! I had a F1 start his jump turn to first but in the process fumbled the ball getting it out of his glove and he caught it himself! Balk!

njdevs00cup Wed May 07, 2008 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
No. A jump turn is not considered disengaging. To disengage, the pitcher must first step back off the rubber with his pivot foot. On a jump turn, his pivot foot merely comes off the rubber as a result of the jump, not as an intentional disengagement. Balk.

Is the base award for throwing the ball into deadball territory one base or two when the pitcher jump turns?

papablue Wed May 07, 2008 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
Is the base award for throwing the ball into deadball territory one base or two when the pitcher jump turns?

Since F1 is still considered "in contact" on a jump turn, then one base.


John

UMP25 Wed May 07, 2008 09:58am

One base, because he is considered to be in contact with the rubber when the jump turn commences.

FTVMartin Thu May 08, 2008 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
Is the base award for throwing the ball into deadball territory one base or two when the pitcher jump turns?

One base, he is still in contact with the rubber. 2 if he disengages.

soundedlikeastrike Thu May 08, 2008 01:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin
One base, he is still in contact with the rubber. 2 if he disengages.

Balk and throw OOP, non FED of course. Could be one, could be two.

Can't balk unless your in contact, sometimes.

Disengage improperly, balk, then throw, two.

socalblue1 Thu May 08, 2008 01:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike
Balk and throw OOP, non FED of course. Could be one, could be two.

Can't balk unless your in contact, sometimes.

Disengage improperly, balk, then throw, two.

Uh, nope. Unless F1 delivers a pitch the ball is dead and runners are awarded one base for the balk violation. No way to get a two base award here.

Rich Thu May 08, 2008 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike
Balk and throw OOP, non FED of course. Could be one, could be two.

Can't balk unless your in contact, sometimes.

Disengage improperly, balk, then throw, two.

If it's two distinct acts -- balk while disengaging, then a throw -- then the ball's dead before it's thrown.

It's just about impossible to balk and have a 2-base award on a throw into DBT.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1