The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   clarify (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/43861-clarify.html)

tayjaid Sat Apr 26, 2008 03:04pm

clarify
 
Runners on 2nd and 3rd one out. Fly ball to center caught, runner on 3rd tags and heads home. Runner at second does not tag heads to third. Throw is cut off at pitchers mound. After a lot of yelling throw to second for missed tag-up. Call runner at 2 out. 3rd out. Question does the run count or not? I have run counting on timing. Was questioned about force out automatically cancling any runs. Thanks

Welpe Sat Apr 26, 2008 03:17pm

Welcome to the forum!

Yes, you were correct that this is a timing play and the run counts. This is assuming, of course, that R3 touched home before R2 was called out on appeal.

aceholleran Sat Apr 26, 2008 03:34pm

This is a very good question, and I know a good few umps (not on this forum of course) whom this play would confuse.

Ace in CT

SAump Sat Apr 26, 2008 04:25pm

Clarify an appeal
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tayjaid
Runners on 2nd and 3rd one out. Fly ball to center caught, runner on 3rd tags and heads home. Runner at second does not tag heads to third. Throw is cut off at pitchers mound. After a lot of yelling throw to second for missed tag-up. Call runner at 2 out. 3rd out. Question does the run count or not? I have run counting on timing. Was questioned about force out automatically cancling any runs. Thanks

You are correct, the run counts, a time play. Welpe nailed above.
It is an out on appeal for failure to retouch or tag 2B, not a force out, after a fly ball is caught.
Typical "force out" challenge from anyone hoping the run would not count.
They correctly apply the wrong rule to gain an unfair advantage on an appeal play.

Rita C Sat Apr 26, 2008 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tayjaid
Runners on 2nd and 3rd one out. Fly ball to center caught, runner on 3rd tags and heads home. Runner at second does not tag heads to third. Throw is cut off at pitchers mound. After a lot of yelling throw to second for missed tag-up. Call runner at 2 out. 3rd out. Question does the run count or not? I have run counting on timing. Was questioned about force out automatically cancling any runs. Thanks

There are many who think this is a force out because all one has to do is touch the bag. Looks to them the same.

A force is an out because the runner was forced to the next bag by the batter becoming a runner. Your scenario is an appeal of a runner leaving before the ball was caught.

Rita

Fan10 Sat Apr 26, 2008 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by aceholleran
I know a good few umps (not on this forum of course) whom this play would confuse.

Ace in CT

Like Ed Montague & Marvin Hudson!!! :) :) :)

http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/04/29/news/BASE.php


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1