| 
		
			| bob jenkins | Fri Apr 25, 2008 06:40am |  
 
	Quote: 
	
		| 
 
					Originally Posted by ManInBlue
					
				 And you are saying it shouldn't be balked b/c an appeal, by rule, is not a play?  Therefore F1 is not "throwing to an unoccupied base?"
 Do I have the jist, or am I (pardon the pun) way off base.
 
 |  You're wrong twice, so they cancel each other out.  ;)
 
1)  An appeal is a play (the statement in the rule book that "an appeal is not a play" applies only to allowing multiple appeals)
 
2)  A pitcher is allowed to throw to an unoccupied base for the purpose of making a play. |