![]() |
Base coach picks up ball
In my JV game yesterday:
R2, grounder to short, throws low to first base. F3 gets a glove on it, but it trickles past him right in front of the 1st base coach who is a player. The player/coach then picks up the ball as F3 is chasing after it and hands it to him! R1 was at 3rd right about when this happened and didn't try to advance. I just called time and kept everyone at their base since nobody was going anywhere. Should I have called someone out for interference here? |
No. You did the right thing. No one was interfered with.
|
I agree with dash: good no call, since no one was interfered with.
However, I would have made sure to tell that coach never to touch a live ball, since there is a risk of interference. |
I agree! No advantage was gained, so I wouldn't have called anything on this particular play.
-Josh |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Ok thanks guys. That was the reasoning behind my ruling. Had there been a runner half way to home, my ruling might have been different.
Thanks for the affirmation! |
Not sure of the actual rule number, but in case of interference such as this, you would impose penalties that would, in your judgement, nullify the interference. Since no one was going anywhere, good no call.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51am. |